Supreme Court: 2002 Opinions

January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December

 

January 2002 January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 1 Dubois v. Madison Paper Co. January 4, 2002 (Workers' Comp)
2002 ME 2 Bernier v. Data General Corp. January 4, 2002
2002 ME 3 Pennings v. Pennings January 4, 2002 (Workers' Comp)
2002 ME 4 Gallant v. Bartash, Inc. January 4, 2002
2002 ME 5 State v. David Kennedy January 7, 2002
2002 ME 6 The Knowles Co. v. Northeast Harbor Ins. January 8, 2002
2002 ME 7 In re Olivia M. January 16, 2002
2002 ME 8 Chiu v. City of Portland January 17, 2002
2002 ME 9 Curtis v. Allstate Ins. Co. January 17, 2002
2002 ME 10 Trask v. Devlin January 17, 2002
2002 ME 11 ALC Development Corp. v. Walker January 18, 2002 (corrected 2-7-02)
2002 ME 12 In re Bailey M. January 28, 2002
2002 ME 13 Salisbury v. Town of Bar Harbor January 29, 2002
2002 ME 14 Kruy v. Kruy January 29, 2002
2002 ME 15 Midfirst Bank v. Cote January 29, 2002
2002 ME 16 Stewart v. Aldrich January 31, 2002 (corrected 2-7-02)
2002 ME 17 In re Ebony P. January 31, 2002

February 2002 January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 18 Maine Farmers Exchange v. Farm Credit of Maine February 5, 2002
2002 ME 19 Kotch V. American Protective Services February 6, 2002 (Workers' Comp.)
2002 ME 20 State v. Raymond Junkins February 7, 2002
2002 ME 21 Estate of Keatinge v. Biddle February 8, 2002
2002 ME 22 State v. Scott Anthoine February 8, 2002
2002 ME 23 Oyster Shell Inc. v. Town of Damariscotta February 11, 2002
2003 ME 24 Murphy v. Maddaus February 13, 2002
2002 ME 25 Coulombe v. Salvation Army

February 15, 2002

2002 ME 26 State v. Robert Kalex February 15, 2002
2002 ME 27 Widewaters Stillwater Co. v. BACORD February 15, 2002
2002 ME 28 State v. Merle Crossman February 19, 2002
2002 ME 29 Hartwell v. Stanley February 20, 2002
2002 ME 30 State v. Michael Minor February 20, 2002
2002 ME 31 In re Melissa T. February 21, 2002
2002 ME 32 Langley v. Me. State Employees Assn. February 22, 2002
2002 ME 33 Town of Carmel v. McSorley February 22, 2002
2002 ME 34 Wooldridge v. Wooldridge February 25, 2002
2002 ME 35 State v. Adam Knight February 25, 2002
2002 ME 36 Jordan v. Shea February 25, 2002
2002 ME 37 Connolly v. Board of Social Work February 27, 2002
2002 ME 37 State v. Warren Haven February 28, 2002

March 2002 January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 39 Thompson (Rothman) v. Rothman March 14, 2002
2002 ME 40 State v. Chamroeun Pheng March 15, 2002
2002 ME 41 Butler v. D/Wave Seafood March 19, 2002
2002 ME 42 Lobozzo v. Progressive Casualty Ins. Co. March 22, 2002
2002 ME 43 Rice v. Alley March 27, 2002
2002 ME 44 State v. Margaretha Bjorkaryd-Bradbury March 27, 2002
2003 ME 45 In re Janna Lynn M. March 27, 2002
2002 ME 46 Walker v. MaineGeneral Medical Ctr.

March 27, 2002

2002 ME 47 Patane v. Brown March 28, 2002
2002 ME 48 Curran v. Ruffing March 28, 2002
2002 ME 49 State v. Barry Bard March 28, 2002
2002 ME 50 Carter v. Williams March 29, 2002

April 2002 January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 51 State v. Jeffrey Soule April 2, 2002
2002 ME 52 Town of Baldwin v. Carter April 8, 2002
2002 ME 53 Rinehart v. Schubel April 8, 2002
2002 ME 54 Dept. of Human Services v. Poulin April 8, 2002
2002 ME 55 State v. Virginia McLaughlin April 8, 2002
2002 ME 56 Commercial Union Ins. Co. v. MEMIC April 8, 2002
2002 ME 57 Acadia Ins. Co. v. Keiser Industries April 9, 2002
2002 ME 58 Lowry v. KTI Specialty Waste Services April 9, 2002
2002 ME 59 State v. Matthew Torrie April 10, 2002
2002 ME 60 State v. Gary Elwell April 10, 2002
2002 ME 61 Clewley v. Whitney April 11, 2002
2002 ME 62 McGhie v. Town of Cutler April 12, 2002
2002 ME 63 State v. Ralph Braddick April 17, 2002
2002 ME 64 Taxpayers Action Net. v. Secretary of State April 17, 2002
2002 ME 65 In re Kaleb and Philip C. April 17, 2002
2002 ME 66 State v. David McCurdy April 18, 2002
2002 ME 67 Gilbert v. Gilbert v. Hanover Ins. Co. April 18, 2002
2002 ME 68 IHT Corp. v. Paragon Cutlery April 18, 2002
2002 ME 69 Bates v. Eckhardt Telecommunications April 18, 2002
2002 ME 70 Hinkley v. Penobscot Valley Hospital April 18, 2002
2002 ME 71 Estate of Lord April 24, 2002
2002 ME 72 City of Lewiston v. Cloutier Realty April 26, 2002
2002 ME 73 Loavenbruck v. Rohrbach April 30, 2002

May 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 74 Fleming v. Dept. of Corrections May 3, 2002
2002 ME 75 State v. Gerald Forsyth May 3, 2002
2002 ME 76 Hennessy v. Fairley May 6, 2002
2002 ME 77 State v. Franklin Higgins II May 8, 2002
2002 ME 78 Thompson v. Dept of Inland Fisheries May 13, 2002
2002 ME 79 Beaulieu v. The Aube Corporation May 15, 2002
2002 ME 80 Selby v. Cumberland County May 15, 2002
2002 ME 81 Gordon W. Stewart v. Town of Sedgwick et al. May 16, 2002
2002 ME 82 Peoples Heritage Savings Bank v. Pease May 21, 2002
2002 ME 83 Premier Capital, Inc. v. Doucette et al. May 22, 2002
2002 ME 84 Aaron Kinzel v. State of Maine May 29, 2002
2002 ME 85 Zagonyi B. Tungate v. W. Gardner Jr. May 29, 2002
2002 ME 86 State of Maine v. John James May 29, 2002
2002 ME 87 State of Maine v. Carrie Audette May 30, 2002

June 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 88 Kelly Marin v. Michael Marin June 4, 2002
2002 ME 89 In re Ross Family Trusts June 4, 2002
2002 ME 90 State of Maine v. Michael Chasse June 4, 2002
2002 ME 91 Mark J. Ayotte et al. v. State Tax Assessor June 4, 2002
2002 ME 92 Terry L. Hoag f/k/a Terry L. Dick v. Richard Dick June 7, 2002
2002 ME 93 State of Maine v. Robert Pineo June 7, 2002
2002 ME 94 State of Maine v. Mark Anthony June 12, 2002
2002 ME 95 Town of Charleston v. School Admin Dist No. 68 June 14, 2002
2002 ME 96 Nancy Blanchard et al. v. Department of Transportation et al. June 20, 2002
2002 ME 97 State of Maine v. Vaughn Nastvogel June 20, 2002
2002 ME 98 James Rutland v. John Mullen et al. June 20, 2002
2002 ME 99 Deborah J. Ames Johnson v. William McNeil Jr. et al. June 21, 2002
2002 ME 100 Wayne Dubay v. Anne Marie Dubay June 25, 2002
2002 ME 101 John Nagle v. Dennis Gokey June 25, 2002
2002 ME 102 Acadia Motors, Inc., et al. v. Ford Motor Company June 25, 2002
2002 ME 103 United States of America, Department of Agriculture, Rural Housing Service June 25, 2002
2002 ME 104 Equity Portfolio LLD, Ltd. v. Robert J. Schriever et al. June 26, 2002
2002 ME 105 Kevin Griffin v. Town of Dedham June 27, 2002

July 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 106 Robet J. Jasch Sr. v. The Anchorage Inn and Hugh S. Cowperthwaite v. M.E.R. Assessment Corp. July 2, 2002
2002 ME 107 Beth Carol Hanna, f/k/a Beth Hanna Hildings v. Richard H. Hildings July 2, 2002
2002 ME 108 Mariah Napieralski v. Unity Church of Greater Portland July 9, 2002
2002 ME 109 Rebecca Lewis Vincent v. Estate of Leo T. Simard July 9, 2002
2002 ME 110 David Hall et al. v. Acadia Insurance Company July 9, 2002
2002 ME 111 State of Maine v. Joseph J. Nugent III July 10, 2002
2002 ME 112 Jolie Campbell v. Daniel Martin July 22, 2002
2002 ME 113 State of Maine v. Kenneth Crawford July 22, 2002
2002 ME 114 Stephen W. DiPietro v. Secretary of State July 24, 2002
2002 ME 115 Associated Builders, Inc. v. Richard Oczkowski et al. July 25, 2002
2002 ME 116 Franklin Printing v. Harvest Hill Press July 25, 2002
2002 ME 117 Anthony J. Casella v. State of Maine July 26, 2002
2002 ME 118 Daniel B. Myshrall Jr. v. Key Bank National Association, f/k/a Key Bank of Maine July 30, 2002
2002 ME 119 Justin Newbury v. Howard Virgin July 30, 2002
2002 ME 120 Fleet National Bank v. Gardiner Hillside Estates, Inc., et al. July 30, 2002
2002 ME 121 Kathleen Christensen-Towne v. Peter Dorey July 31, 2002
2002 ME 122 State of Maine v. Gatherius White a/k/a Jatherius White July 31, 2002 --revised September 12, 2002
2002 ME 123 Wright & Mills v. Harrison Bispham July 31, 2002
2002 ME 124 State of Maine v. Thomas Lafond July 31, 2002

August 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 125 State of Maine v. Thomas Leonard August 2, 2002
2002 ME 126 In re Alana S. August 2, 2002
2002 ME 127 St. Francis De Sales Federal Credit Union et al. v. Sun Insurance Company of New York et al.

August 2, 2002

Replaced April 2, 2003

2002 ME 128 Carroll F. Look Construction Co., Inc. v. Town of Beals August 5, 2002
2002 ME 129 Roy and Patricia Hopkins v. Department of Human Services August 8, 2002
2002 ME 130 Milton E. Bray v. David M. Grindle August 8, 2002
2002 ME 131 Lonnie Garland v. Joshua Sherwin August 8, 2002
2002 ME 132 Ray Corey et ux. v. Darrian Corey August 8, 2002
2002 ME 133 City of Old Town v. Antonios Dimoulas et al. August 9, 2002
2002 ME 134 Michael Daly v. Spinnaker Industries, Inc. August 15, 2002
2002 ME 135 In re Jeremiah Y. August 15, 2002
2002 ME 136 State of Maine v. Frank Robinson August 15, 2002
2002 ME 137 Edwin Lyons et al. v. Baptist School of Christian Training August 16, 2002
2002 ME 138 Carole Lovely-Belyea v. Maine State Retirement System August 16, 2002
2002 ME 139 State of Maine v. James R. Krieger August 19, 2002
2002 ME 140 Paul E. Rogers et al. v. Glenn L. Jackson August 20, 2002
2002 ME 141 Russell Sylvester v. Evelyn Vitagliano August 21, 2002
2002 ME 142 Jack Dean Pelkey v. General Electric Capital Assurance Company August 21, 2002
2002 ME 143 Jean C. Palanza v. Michael B. Lufkin August 22, 2002
2002 ME 144 Sharon McKeeman v. Cianbro Corp. et al. August 27, 2002
2002 ME 145 State of Maine v. James Melanson August 27, 2002
2002 ME 146 North River Ins. Co. v. Denzil Snyder et al. August 27, 2002
2002 ME 147 Jeffrey Ackerman v. Theodore M. Hojnowski August 27, 2002
2002 ME 148 In re Rachel J. et al. August 28, 2002

September 2002 January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 149 Randy S. Smith o/b/o Kate L. v. Wayne Hawthorne September 5, 2002
2002 ME 150 State of Maine v. Brenda Radley September 5, 2002
2002 ME 122 State of Maine v. Gatherius White a/k/a Jatherius White Rev'd September 12, 2002 (originally issued 7/31/02)
2002 ME 151 In re Heather G. et al. September 12, 2002
2002 ME 152 Stephen Austin v. Valerie Austin September 18, 2002
2002 ME 153 Department of Human Services v. Jerome Blaisdell September 20, 2002
2002 ME 154 Estate of Steven P. Hodgkins September 24, 2002
2002 ME 155 David Bourke et al. v. City of South Portland et al. September 24, 2002

October 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 156 Barbara Warner v. Barry Warner October 3, 2002 and Revised Oct. 9, 2002
2002 ME 157 Vernon Haines v. Great Northern Paper, Inc., et al. October 11, 2002
2002 ME 158 Consumers for Affordable Health Care, Inc. v. Superintendent of Insurance et al. October 16, 2002
2002 ME 159 In re Michaela C. October 22, 2002
2002 ME 160 Ronald White v. McTeague, Higbee, Case, Cohen, Whitney & Toker, P.A. October 23, 2002
2002 ME 161 Pembroke School Committee v. Donald Veader October 29, 2002
2002 ME 162 Roxanne Alley v. John Alley October 31, 2002

November 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 163 Alice J. Coulombe v. Anthem Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Maine, Inc. et al. November 1, 2002
2002 ME 164 Walter E. Taggart v. James E. Taggart et al. November 5, 2002
2002 ME 165 State of Maine v. Deborah Willette November 8, 2002
2002 ME 166 State of Maine v. Richard Hatt November 13, 2002
2002 ME 167 Jeffrey H. Young v. Danyelle E. Young November 21, 2002
2002 ME 168 Jenkins, Inc. v. Walsh Brothers, Inc., et al. November 22, 2002
2002 ME 169 Opinion of the Justices of the Supreme Judicial Court - Questions Propounded by His Excellency, Angus S. King, Jr., Governor of Maine Dated November 22, 2002 November 25, 2002

December 2002
January 2010
Opinion # Case Date
2002 ME 170 In re Marpheen C. et al. December 2, 2002
2002 ME 171 State of Maine v. David E. McLean December 4, 2002
2002 ME 172 Donald J. Williams v. State Tax Assessor December 10, 2002
2002 ME 173 Mary Ricci v. Mercy Hospital December 13, 2002
2002 ME 174 Nancy Austin, o/b/o Serenity Soiett v. Universal Cheerleaders Association December 17, 2002
2002 ME 175 Jane Davis Doggett v. Town of Gouldsboro December 18, 2002
2002 ME 176 Flik International Corp. v. State Tax Assessor December 20, 2002
2002 ME 177 State of Maine v. Stephen Smith December 23, 2002
2002 ME 178 Bay View Bank, N.A. v. The Highland Golf Mortgagees Realty Trust December 31, 2002
2002 ME 179 Todd Rothstein v. Barbara Maloney December 31, 2002