Supreme Court: 2008 Opinions

January | February | March | April | May | June | July | August | September | October | November | December

 

January 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 1 Elizabeth A. Ahern v Donald M. Ahern January 3, 2008
2008 ME 2 Robert G. Conrad v. Sheryl V. Swan January 8, 2008
2008 ME 3 Jayne E. Oakes v. Donald W. Oakes January 8, 2008
2008 ME 4 Ricky B. Cole v. Brenda Cole JJanuary 8, 2008
2008 ME 5 State of Maine v. Jon F. Dilley January 8, 2008
2008 ME 6 Sylvia L. Sutherland v. Jason R. Morrill January 8, 2008
2008 ME 7 Estate of James Martin Jr. January 15, 2008
2008 ME 8 Gail Smith v. Hannaford Brothers Co. January 15, 2008
2008 ME 9

Alice Geary v. The Stanley Medical Research Institute et al.

and

James Allen v. The Stanley Medical Research Institute et al.

January 15, 2008
2008 ME 10 E. Perry Iron & Metal Co., Inc. v. City of Portland January 15, 2008
2008 ME 11 Michael Wooldridge v. Debra Wooldridge January 24, 2008
2008 ME 12 Jennifer A. Provencher v. Scott G. Provencher January 24, 2008
2008 ME 13 Wanda J. Finch v. H. Craig Higgins January 24, 2008
2008 ME 14 State of Maine v. David N. Grant January 24, 2008
2008 ME 15 Normand J. Martin et al. v. City of Lewiston et al. January 29, 2008
2008 ME 16 Estate of Theodore Lipin January 29, 2008
2008 ME 17 Brenda R. Brown v. Roger Haberle January 29, 2008
2008 ME 18 David Bean v. Richad N. Cummings Sr. January 29, 2008
2008 ME 19 David Currier v. Tamber Huron January 29, 2008
2008 ME 20 Petr Ivanov v. Phenix Mutual Fire Insurance Company January 31, 2008
2008 ME 21 Elizabeth Foster et al. v. Oral Surgery Associates, P.A. et al. January 31, 2008
2008 ME 22 State of Maine v. Steven A. Plummer January 31, 2008
2008 ME 23 Portland Water District v. Town of Standish January 31, 2008
February 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 24 Board of Overseers of the Bar v. Brian D. Condon Jr. February 5, 2008
2008 ME 25 Timothy C. Ward Sr. v. Vicki L. Ward February 5, 2008
2008 ME 26 Matthew L. Morgan v. John Kooistra et al. February 5, 2008
2008 ME 27 Town of Frye Island et al. v. State of Maine et al. February 7, 2008
2008 ME 28 Michael L. Chasse v. State of Maine February 12, 2008
2008 ME 29 Aaron Michaud v. Blue Hill Memorial Hospital et al. February 12, 2008
2008 ME 30 Frederick G. Trudo et al. v. Town of Kennebunkport February 21, 2008
2007 ME 104 Carla Hall v. Patriot Mutual Insurance Co. et al.

Issued August 9, 2007

Revised February 26, 2008

2008 ME 31 State of Maine v. Michael A. Russo

February 26, 2008

2008 ME 32 State of Maine v. Margo Malpher February 28, 2008
2008 ME 33 State of Maine v. Christopher N. Bilynsky February 28, 2008
2008 ME 34 Kelly A. Preston v. William Tracy February 28, 2008
2008 ME 35 Charles E. Payne v. Maili Payne February 28, 2008
2008 ME 36 Maine Eye Care Associates P.A. v. Timber H. Gorman February 28, 2008
2008 ME 37 Bog Lake Company v. Town of Northfield et al.  
March 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 38 State of Maine v. Michael E. Grindle March 4, 2008
2008 ME 39 James P Day et al. v. State Tax Assessor March 4, 2008
2008 ME 40 State of Maine v. Daniel S. Gantnier March 4, 2008
2008 ME 41 Cecile Fongemie Quirion v. Kevin Geroux March 4, 2008
2008 ME 42 Ken Anderson et al. v. Marsha C. O'Rourke et al. March 4, 2008
2008 ME 43 John Legassie v. Securitas, Inc., et al. March 4, 2008
2008 ME 44 Timothy Toomey v. Town of Frye Island March 4, 2008
2008 ME 45 Lane Construction Corporation v. Town of Washington et al. and Land Association of Washington et al. v. Town of Washington et al. March 11, 2008
2008 ME 46 Cynthia Molleur v. Dairyland Insurance Co. March 11, 2008
2008 ME 47 Marie Glenda Wilson v. Bath Iron Works March 18, 2008
2008 ME 48 Tammie Wheaton v. Department of Health and Human Services March 18, 2008
2008 ME 49 Tracy Nelson et al. v. Dubois Livestock et al. March 18, 2008
2008 ME 50 Genujo Lok Beteligungs GMBH v. Manfred Zorn March 18, 2008
2008 ME 51 City of Augusta v. Attorney General et al. March 18, 2008
2008 ME 52 MacMahan Island Association v. Nathalie Taft Andrews et al. March 18, 2008
2008 ME 53 Elisha Edward Camp et al. v. Town of Shapleigh et al. March 18, 2008
2008 ME 54 In re Natasha S. March 18, 2008
2008 ME 55 Maureen Hedges v. Timothy D. Pitcher March 20, 2008
2008 ME 56 Leslie (Padolko) Smith v. Victor Padolko March 20, 2008
2008 ME 57 Craig Jipson v. Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company March 20, 2008
2008 ME 58 Norman C. Gile et al. v. Kenneth Albert March 20, 2008
2008 ME 59 Joyce Schelling v. R. Kenneth Lindell Jr. March 20, 2008
2008 ME 60 Jason R. Labonte et al. v. John Thurlow et al. March 25, 2008
2008 ME 61 Kelly Walton v. Maine School Administrative District 52 et al. March 27, 2008
April 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 62 Estate of Timmy L. Barrows April 1, 2008
2008 ME 63 Raisin Memorial Trust v. Sharon Casey April 1, 2008
2008 ME 64 State of Maine v. Robert S. Cosgro April 3, 2008
2008 ME 65 David L. Gould v. A-1 Auto, Inc. April 8, 2008
2008 ME 66 Eugene Matthews v. Marylou Matthews April 8, 2008
2008 ME 67 State of Maine v. Michael R. Laferriere April 15, 2008
2008 ME 68 Pamela St. John v. Jeffrey Jordan et al. April 15, 2008
2008 ME 69 Blethen Maine Newspapers, Inc. v. Portland School Committee April 24, 2008
2008 ME 70 Midcoast Cohousing Land Acquisition, LLC v. The Riverhouse Trust April 29, 2008
2008 ME 71 Loi Van Ngo v. State of Maine April 29, 2008
2008 ME 72 Jason D. Cole v. Cheri A. Cushman April 29, 2008
2008 ME 73 Lee Marie v. Thomas Renner April 29, 2008
2008 ME 74 Patricia (Cusack) Walsh v. James T. Cusack April 29, 2008
2008 ME 75 Carol A. Arsenault v. Timothy L. Arsenault April 29, 2008
May 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 76 State of Maine v. Brandon B. Drewry May 1, 2008
2008 ME 77 State of Maine v. Christian Nielsen May 6, 2008
2008 ME 78 State of Maine v. Adam H. Frank May 6, 2008
2008 ME 79 Estate of Bruce H. Kingsbury May 6, 2008
2008 ME 80 Jade Realty Corp. v. Town of Eliot May 8, 2008
2008 ME 81

Leanne Fernald v. Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.

and

William J. Babine v. Bath Iron Works

May 8, 2008
2008 ME 82 State of Maine v. Mark  W. Haskell May 8, 2008
2008 ME 83 Robert L. Tolliver Jr., as sole guardian and conservator of Lucas E. Tolliver v. Department of Transportation May 13, 2008
2008 ME 84 Mavourneen M. Tornesello et al. v. Debra A. Tisdale et al. May 15, 2008
2008 ME 85 Camden National Bank v. William M. Peterson May 20, 2008
2008 ME 86 Marie MacCormack et al. v. Howard S. Brower May 22, 2008
2008 ME 87 Barbara F. Burr v. Mary L. Jordan May 27, 2008
2008 ME 88 Chesterfield Associates, Inc. v. Sheepscot River Holdings I, LLC, et al. May 27, 2008
2008 ME 89 In re Dustin C. et al. May 29, 2008
2008 ME 90 William E. Toffling v. Liza K. Toffling May 29, 2008
2008 ME 91 Robert Nelson et al. v. Bayroot, LLC, et al. May 29, 2008
June 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 92 Northland Realty, LLC v. Bernard Crawford et al. June 3, 2008
2008 ME 93 Amica Mutual Insurance Company v. Estate of Esther Pecci et al. June 10, 2008
2008 ME 94 Joseph A. Roy v. Bath Iron Works et al. June 10, 2008
2008 ME 95 Jeanannette Waning v. Department of Transportation June 10, 2008
2008 ME 96 Chase Home Finance LLC v. John H. Higgins et al. June 10, 2008
2008 ME 97 Darlene Copp v. Scott Liberty June 12, 2008
2008 ME 98 Ronald L. Peaker v. City of Biddeford June 12, 2008
2008 ME 99 James W. Butler Jr. v. Lyudmila A. Romanova June 17, 2008
2008 ME 100 James P. Moore v. Charles Abbott et al. June 17, 2008
2008 ME 101 State of Maine v. Heath St. Louis June 24, 2008
2008 ME 102 Bernadette Marquis v. Paul Marquis June 24, 2008
2008 ME 103 Lawrence Roop et al. v. City of Belfast June 24, 2008
2008 ME 104 James SIlsby Jr. et al. v. Anthony Belch et al. June 24, 2008
2008 ME 105 H.D. Goodall Hospital v. Department of Health and Human Services June 26, 2008
2008 ME 106 Paul Dyer et al. v. Department of Transportation June 26, 2008
2008 ME 107 Nahabet Cimenian v. Carolle Lumb June 26, 2008
July 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 108 Jason Joyce et al. v. State of Maine July 1, 2008
2008 ME 109 Jeanne M. Najemy et al. v. Board of Environmental Protection et al. July 3, 2008
2008 ME 110 In re Donald Beauchene July 3, 2008
2008 ME 111 Nancy Stanley Brickley et al. v. Kim P. Horton et al. July 3, 2008
2008 ME 112 State of Maine v. Daniel P. Roberts July 8, 2008
2008 ME 113 Camden National Bank v. Crest Construction, Inc., et al. July 10, 2008
2008 ME 114 Timothy O'Connor, Personal Representative of the Estate of Tracy O'Connor v. Counseling Services, Inc., et al. July 10, 2008
2008 ME 115 Rangeley Crossroads Coalition et al. v. Land Use Regulation Commission et al. July 15, 2008
2008 ME 116 State of Maine v. Dwayne Stevens July 15, 2008
2008 ME 117 In the Matter of Primary Election Ballot Dispute 2008 July 15, 2008
2008 ME 118 State of Maine v. Lorne Melvin July 17, 2008
2008 ME 119 State of Maine v. Nicholas Webster July 17, 2008
2008 ME 120 Ruth W. Weeks et al. v. John Krysa et al. July 17, 2008
2008 ME 121 State of Maine v. John Barretto July 22, 2008
2008 ME 122 Michael J. James v. State of Maine July 24, 2008
2008 ME 123 Cole Mariner v. A.P. Concrete et al. July 24, 2008
2008 ME 124 John Knutson v. Department of Secretary of State and Herbert J. Hoffman July 28, 2008
2008 ME 125 Jeffrey A. Davis v. Robin Anderson July 29, 2008
2008 ME 126 Ernest W. Marshall v. Katherine M. Webber July 29, 2008
2008 ME 127 Kelly DeCambra v. Kimberly Carson et al. July 29, 2008
August 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 128 City of South Portland v. Maine Municipal Association August 7, 2008
2008 ME 129 John Knutson v. Department of Secretary of State and Herbert Hoffman--Order Staying Mandate August 20, 2008
2008 ME 130 David E. Hamlin v. Leslie Niedner Jr. et al. August 26, 2008
2008 ME 131 Yim K. Cheung v. Wing Ki Wu et al. August 26, 2008
2008 ME 132 State of Maine v. Stanley J. Swiek August 28, 2008
2008 ME 133 Mavis Voisine v. Veronica Tomlinson August 28, 2008
2008 ME 134 Vickie L. Mills v. Town of Eliot et al. August 28, 2008
2008 ME 135 Quiland, Inc. v. Public Utilities Commission August 28, 2008
2008 ME 136 State of Maine v. Steven M. Clark August 28, 2008
2008 ME 137 Laurie Dobson v. Department of the Secretary of State August 29, 2008
September 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 138 Estate of Anna L. Markheim, by G. Charles Shumway II, Special Administrator v. Ryan Markheim et al. 9/4/08
2008 ME 139 John Michael Ezell v. Janice (Barker) Lawless 9/4/08
2008 ME 140 Dragoslav Avramovic v. R.C. Moore Transportation, Inc., et al. 9/9/08
2008 ME 141 David R. Guy Jr. v. Linda J. Guy 9/9/08
2008 ME 142 Kimberly Costain v. Sunbury Primary Care, P.A. 9/9/08
2008 ME 143 Duane A. Manning v. Dana E. Manning 9/16/08
2008 ME 144 In re Olivia C. 9/16/08
2008 ME 145 Merrill A. Efstathiou v. The Aspinquid, Inc., et al.; The Aspinquid, Inc. v. Merrill A. Efstathiou; and Merrill A. Efstathiou v. Dennis A. Efstathiou 9/23/08
2008 ME 146 Brown Development Corp. v. Maureen Hemond 9/23/08
2008 ME 147 Kimberly J. Nadeau v. Robert M.A. Nadeau 9/25/08
2008 ME 148 Gerhard Schaeffer v. State Tax Assessor Corrected 10-20-2008 9/25/08
2009 ME 101 Blue Star Corporation v. CKF Properties, LLC, et al. 9/24/09
October 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 149 Liberty Insurance Underwriters, Inc. v. Estate of Peter D. Faulkner et al. Corrected 10-23-08 10/7/08
2008 ME 150 State of Maine v. Vinson D. Mangos 10/7/08
2008 ME 151 State of Maine v. James F. Schmidt 10/7/08
2008 ME 152 Mary E. Philbrook et al. v. Lynn Theriault et al. 10/7/08
2008 ME 153 Camp Takajo, Inc. v. Simplexgrinnell, L.P. 10/7/08
2008 ME 154 State of Maine v. Daniel P. Warren 10/7/08
2008 ME 155 Gary Quintal v. City Hallowell et al. 10/7/08
2008 ME 156 Ed Friedman et al. v. Board of Environmental Protection 10/9/08
2008 ME 157 Susan V. Nixon v. Thomas S. Nixon 10/9/08
2008 ME 158 Camden National Bank v. William M. Peterson 10/16/08
2008 ME 159 Town of Bristol Taxpayers' Association et al. v. Board of Selectmen/ Assessors for the Town of Bristol et al . 10/21/08
2008 ME 160 Michael C. Mowles Jr. v. Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election Practices 10/21/08
2008 ME 161 Vivian Harvey v. H. R. Price Company et al. 10/21/08
2008 ME 162 David J. Sprague v. Lucas Tree Experts et al. 10/21/08
2008 ME 163 Roger Medeika v. William Watts Trustee et. al 10/23/08
2008 ME 164 Eric D. Cavers v. Houston McLane Co., Inc. d/b/a The Houston Astros Baseball Club 10/30/08
2009 ME 102 State of Maine v. Ashton Moores 10/6/09
2009 ME 103 State of Maine v. Frederick C. Johnson 10/8/09
2009 ME 104 In re Motion to Quash Bar Counsel Subpoena 10/27/09
2009 ME 105 Donald J. Cassidy et al. v. Wendy M. Cassidy et al. 10/27/09
2009 ME 106 State of Maine v. Corey L. Townsend 10/27/09
2009 ME 107 Merrill A. Efstathiou v. Dennis A. Efstathiou 10/27/09
November 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 165 York Hospital et al. v. Department of Health and Human Services et al. 11/4/08
2008 ME 166 State of Maine v. Rodman E. Thompson 11/4/08
2008 ME 167 Randall K. Tucker v. Associated Grocers of Maine, Inc., et al. 11/6/08
2008 ME 168 In re Jacob B. 11/13/08
2008 ME 169 Daniel A. Boggs Jr. v. Sarah Berthiaume 11/13/08
2008 ME 170 Robert C. Wright v. Jayne L. (Wright) Michaud 11/18/08
2008 ME 171 Gannett Co., Inc., et al. v. State Tax Assessor 11/18/08
2008 ME 172 Arnold Smart v. Department of Public Safety 11/20/08
2008 ME 173 Julia J. (St. James) Edwards v. Robert B. Campbell Jr. 11/25/08
2008 ME 174 State of Maine v. Donna M. Hall 11/25/08
December 2008
Opinion # Case Date
2008 ME 175 State of Maine v. Debra L. Porter 12/208
2008 ME 176 Estate of Thelma M. Miller 12/4/08
2008 ME 177 State of Maine v. Richard Tayman Jr. 12/4/08
2008 ME 178 State of Maine v. Tyler P. Blackburn 12/4/08
2008 ME 179 Maetta Dickey et al. v. Gerald E. Vermette 12/9/08
2008 ME 180 State of Maine v. John M. Dominique 12/9/08
2008 ME 181 Pearse Associates, LLC v. Alan J. Perry et al. 12/9/08
2008 ME 182 State of Maine v. Brian Dunbar 12/9/08
2008 ME 183 Estate of Eleanor Dresser v. Maine Medical Center 12/11/08
2008 ME 184 Pamela F. Francis v. Colleen Dana-Cummings et al. 12/11/08
2008 ME 185 Denise Kane v. Commissioner of the Department of Health and Human Services 12/11/08
2008 ME 186 Claire Brown v. Crown Equipment Corporation 12/11/08
2008 ME 187 Carl Lindemann v. Commission on Governmental Ethics and Election Practices 12/16/08
2008 ME 188 State of Maine v. Ian P. Standring 12/16/08
2008 ME 189 State of Maine v. Patsy A. Rollins 12/18/08
2008 ME 190 George Tomer v. Maine Human Rights Commission 12/23/08
2008 ME 191 Julia A. Ellis v. Robert G. Ellis 12/23/08
2008 ME 192 Teresa L. Harvey et al. v. Jeffrey B. Dow Sr. et al. 12/23/08
2008 ME 193 Mark S. Hider v. Jane E. Hider 12/23/08
2008 ME 194 JJP, LLC v. Town of Gouldsboro 12/30/08
2008 ME 195 State of Maine v. Sherry Gdovin 12/30/08