
STATE	OF	MAINE	
SUPREME	JUDICIAL	COURT	

	
ADMINISTRATIVE	ORDER	JB-05-26	(A.	2-24)	

	
REVISED	COURT	FEES	SCHEDULE	AND	

DOCUMENT	MANAGEMENT	PROCEDURES	
	

Effective:	February	12,	2024	
	

	 This	Order	amends	 JB-05-26	as	amended	by	A.	11-23,	promulgated	on	
November	7,	2023,	and	effective	on	November	13,	2023.	
	
	 In	 order	 to	 promote	uniformity	 of	 practice,	 costs,	 and	procedures,	 the	
following	fees	schedule	and	the	following	procedures	for	copying,	attestation,	
and	document	management	are	adopted	for	all	Courts	in	the	Maine	State	Court	
System.		As	used	in	this	Schedule,	“Clerk”	means	the	Clerk	of	the	Law	Court,	the	
Executive	Clerk	of	the	Supreme	Judicial	Court,	a	Clerk	of	the	Superior	Court,	a	
Clerk	of	the	District	Court,	the	Manager	of	the	Maine	Judicial	Branch	Violations	
Bureau,	 or	 a	 member	 of	 such	 a	 person’s	 staff	 who	 has	 been	 delegated	 the	
authority	to	sign	documents	on	behalf	of	that	person.		This	Order	replaces	any	
previous	 Fees	 Schedule,	 Administrative	 Order,	 or	 Fees	 and	 Document	
Management	Procedures.	
	

I.		FEES	

	 Beginning	on	July	1,	2018,	certain	fees	listed	in	this	section	are	increased	
to	 include	a	$15	or	$25	amount	 that	will	be	deposited	 into	an	Other	Special	
Revenue	account	to	fund	the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A(3);	
P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.		The	fees	that	include	the	$15	increase	are	marked	*,	and	the	
fees	that	include	the	$25	increase	are	marked	**.		Also,	effective	July	1,	2018,	a	
$15	 surcharge	 on	 any	 fine	 imposed	 in	 a	 civil	 or	 criminal	 matter	 or	 in	 an	
administrative	enforcement	or	licensing	action	will	be	assessed	and	deposited	
into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	account	to	fund	the	Court	Management	System.		
See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A(3);	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
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A.	 Filing	and	Similar	Fees	and	Surcharges	on	Fines	
	
	 1.	Fees	in	the	Supreme	Judicial	Court1	
a.	 Filing	a	Motion	to	Reconsider	in	the	Supreme	Judicial	Court	

(M.R.	App.	P.	14(b))	
**$125.00	

b.	 Appearance	Pro	Hac	Vice	 $700.002	
	
	 2.		Fees	in	the	Superior	Court3	
a.	 Filing	 a	 General	 Civil	 or	 Real	 Estate	 action	 or	 Filing	 a	

Third-Party	Complaint	
**$175.00	

b.	 Filing	 a	 Debt	 Collection	 action	 when	 brought	 by	 a	 debt	
buyer	 or	 debt	 collector	 as	 defined	 in	 32	 M.R.S.	
§	11002(5-A)	or	(6).4	

**$302.00	

c.	 Filing/Registering	a	Foreign	 Judgment	on	a	General	Civil	
action	

**$175.00	

d.	 Filing	a	Pre-Judgment	Motion	to	decide	a	case	on	the	merits	
pursuant	 to	 M.R.	 Civ.	 P.	 12(b)(6),	 12(c),	 or	 56,	 or	 a	
Pre-Judgment	Motion	or	Request	 for	Default	 and	Default	
Judgment	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	55(e)	

**$225.00	
	

e.	 Appearance	Pro	Hac	Vice	 $700.005	

 
1		For	appeal	fees,	see	subdivision	6	below.	
	
2		This	amount	includes	a	$100	fee	to	be	deposited	into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	account	to	fund	

the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A;	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
	
3		For	appeal	fees,	see	subdivision	6	below.	
	
4	 	A	surcharge	of	$127.00	on	debt	buyers	or	debt	collectors	bringing	debt	collection	actions	 is	

included	along	with	the	ordinary	civil	action	filing	fee.		This	surcharge	will	be	deposited	in	the	Civil	
Legal	Services	Fund	as	required	by	4	M.R.S.	§	18-A(3-A)(C).		The	filing	fee	includes	a	$45	mediation	
fee.	
	
5		This	amount	includes	a	$100	fee	to	be	deposited	into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	account	to	fund	

the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A;	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
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f.	 Filing	an	action	under	14	M.R.S.	§	8601(3)(E)	(Actions	for	
filing	 false	 recordable	 instruments	 against	 public	
employees	and	public	officials)	

$25.00	

g.	 Filing	 a	 Criminal	 Action,	 Traffic	 Infraction,	 or	 Civil	
Violation	

No	fee	

h.	 Late	Waiver	 Fee	 (applicable	 to	 a	waiver	 filed	more	 than	
5	business	 days	 after	 failure	 to	 appear	 in	 a	 Criminal	
Action),	4	M.R.S.	§§	164,	164-A	

$100.00	

i.	 Court	Management	System	Surcharge	(imposed	in	addition	
to	any	fine	 imposed	 in	a	civil	or	criminal	matter	or	 in	an	
administrative	enforcement	or	licensing	action)6	

$15.00	

j.	 Filing	a	Petition	for	Forfeiture	filed	by	AG	or	DA	in	Criminal	
Drug	Cases	

No	fee	

k.	 Jury	Trial	Fee	in	Superior	Court	 $300.00	
l.	 Medical	Malpractice	Notice	of	Claim	(per	party)	 **$225.00	
m.	 Filing	 a	 Motion	 or	 Request	 pursuant	 to	 M.R.	 Civ.	

P.	55(b)(2),	59,	60(b),	62,	or	66	
$60.00	

	

	 3.	Fees	in	the	District	Court7	
a.	 Filing	 a	 General	 Civil	 or	 Real	 Estate	 action	 or	 Filing	 a	

Third-Party	Complaint	
**$175.00	

b.	 Filing	 a	 Debt	 Collection	 action	when	 brought	 by	 a	 debt	
buyer	 or	 debt	 collector	 as	 defined	 in	 32	 M.R.S.	
§	11002(5-A)	or	(6).8	

**$302.00	

 
6	 	 All	 surcharges	 collected	 relating	 to	 this	 subsection	 shall	 be	 deposited	 into	 an	Other	 Special	

Revenue	account	to	fund	the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A;	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
	
7		For	appeal	fees,	see	subdivision	6	below.	
	
8	 	A	surcharge	of	$127.00	on	debt	buyers	or	debt	collectors	bringing	debt	collection	actions	 is	

included	along	with	the	ordinary	civil	action	filing	fee.		This	surcharge	will	be	deposited	in	the	Civil	
Legal	Services	Fund	as	required	by	4	M.R.S.	§	18-A(3-A)(C).		The	filing	fee	includes	a	$45	mediation	
fee.	
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c.	 Filing/Registering	a	Foreign	Judgment	on	a	General	Civil	
action	

**$175.00	

d.	 Filing	 a	 Pre-Judgment	 Motion	 to	 decide	 a	 case	 on	 the	
merits	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	12(b)(6),	12(c),	or	56,	or	a	
Pre-Judgment	Motion	or	Request	for	Default	and	Default	
Judgment	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	55(e)	

**$225.00	
	

e.	 Appearance	Pro	Hac	Vice	 $700.009	
f.	 Filing	an	action	under	14	M.R.S.	§	8601(3)(E)	(Actions	for	

filing	 false	 recordable	 instruments	 against	 public	
employees	and	public	officials)	

$25.00	

g.	 Filing	 a	 Criminal	 Action,	 Traffic	 Infraction,	 or	 Civil	
Violation	

No	fee	

h.	 Late	Waiver	Fee	(applicable	 to	a	waiver	 filed	more	than	
5	business	 days	 after	 failure	 to	 appear	 in	 a	 Criminal	
Action),	4	M.R.S.	§§	164,	164-A	

$100.00	

i.	 Court	 Management	 System	 Surcharge	 (imposed	 in	
addition	to	any	fine	imposed	in	a	civil	or	criminal	matter	
or	in	an	administrative	enforcement	or	licensing	action)10	

$15.00	

j.	 Filing,	by	AG	or	DA,	a	Petition	for	Forfeiture	in	a	Criminal	
Drug	Case	

No	fee	

k.	 Entry	of	a	Family	Matter	Action11	 $120.00	
l.	 Entry	of	an	Emancipation	Action	 No	fee	

 
9		This	amount	includes	a	$100	fee	to	be	deposited	into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	account	to	fund	

the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A;	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
	
10	 	All	 surcharges	collected	relating	 to	 this	 subsection	shall	be	deposited	 into	an	Other	Special	

Revenue	account	to	fund	the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A;	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
	
11	 	 Includes	 a	 grandparents	 or	 great-grandparents	 visitation	 petition	 under	 19-A	 M.R.S.	

§§	1801-1805,	 which	 must	 be	 filed	 as	 a	 new	 action.	 	 The	 term	 also	 applies	 to	 post-judgment	
termination	of	parental	rights	actions	brought	under	19-A	M.R.S.	§	1658	or	22	M.R.S.	§	4059,	and	
other	actions	not	otherwise	listed	in	this	Schedule	initiated	under	specific	statutory	authority	where	
no	filing	fee	is	set	by	statute.	
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m.	 Entry	of	a	Forcible	Entry	and	Detainer	Action12	 **$100.00	
n.	 Entry	of	a	Small	Claims	Action13	 *$70.00	
o.	 Entry	of	a	Small	Claims	Disclosure	per	defendant	 *$30.00	
p.	 Service	of	a	Small	Claims	Action	or	Disclosure,	per	party	

(optional)	
$15.00	

q.	 Entry	of	a	Money	Judgment	Disclosure	 **$85.00	
r.	 Money	Judgment	Disclosure—Reactivated	 **$55.00	
s.	 Money	Judgment	Disclosure	 in	a	case	brought	by	a	debt	

buyer	 or	 debt	 collector,	 as	 defined	 in	 32	 M.R.S.	
§	11002(5-A)	or	(6),	in	which	the	$127	surcharge	was	not	
paid	at	commencement	of	the	action.14	

**$212.00	

t.	 Entry	of	a	Protection	from	Harassment	Action	 **$55.00	
u.	 Entry	 of	 a	 Protection	 from	 Harassment	 Action	 with	 an	

allegation	 of	 domestic	 violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	
sex	trafficking,	or	unauthorized	dissemination	of	certain	
private	images	

No	fee	

v.	 Entry	of	a	Protection	from	Abuse	Action	 No	fee	
w.	 Entry	of	a	Child	Protection	Action	 No	fee	
x.	 Filing	a	Motion	for	Post-Judgment	Relief	pursuant	to	M.R.	

Civ.	 P.	 120	 in	 an	 action	 under	 Title	 19-A,	 including	 a	
Stipulated	 Amendment	 to	 a	 Judgment	 but	 excluding	 a	
Motion	or	Stipulation	to	Modify	or	Enforce	a	Child	Support	
Order	 or	 any	 Family	 Matter	 Pre-Judgment	 or	
Post-Judgment	Motion	for	Contempt15	

$80.00	

 
12		Includes	a	$15.00	mediation	fee.	
	
13		Includes	a	$15.00	mediation	fee.	
	
14	 	A	surcharge	of	$127.00	on	debt	buyers	or	debt	collectors	bringing	debt	collection	actions	is	

included	along	with	the	ordinary	civil	action	filing	fee.		This	surcharge	will	be	deposited	in	the	Civil	
Legal	Services	Fund	as	required	by	4	M.R.S.	§	18-A(3-A)(C).	
	
15		A	motion	or	stipulation	to	modify	or	enforce	a	child	support	order	may	include	a	request	for	

attorney	 fees	 and	 still	 be	 exempt	 from	 the	 post-judgment	 filing	 fee.	 	 A	 fee	will	 be	 charged	 for	 a	
post-judgment	 motion	 or	 stipulation	 that	 raises	 additional	 issues.	 	 For	 example,	 a	 motion	 or	
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y.	 Filing	 a	 Motion	 or	 Request	 pursuant	 to	 M.R.	 Civ.	 P.	
55(b)(2),	59,	60(b),	62,	or	66,	except	there	shall	be	no	fee	
for	the	following:	

• Motion	to	Modify	or	Enforce	a	Child	Support	Order16	
• Motion	for	Contempt	alleging	the	failure	to	pay	child	
support17	

• Motion	 for	 Contempt	 filed	 by	 a	 plaintiff	 in	 a	
Protection	from	Abuse	action	

• Motion	 for	 Contempt	 filed	 by	 a	 plaintiff	 in	 a	
Protection	 from	 Harassment	 action	 involving	
domestic	 violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	
trafficking,	 or	 unauthorized	 dissemination	 of	
certain	private	images	

$60.00	

 
stipulation	seeking	both	a	change	in	visitation	and	modification	of	child	support	requires	payment	of	
the	fee.	
	
A	Family	Matter	Pre-Judgment	or	Post-Judgment	Motion	for	Contempt	shall	be	treated	as	a	motion	

under	 Rule	 66	 that	would	 require	 the	 filing	 fee	 for	 a	 Rule	 66	motion.	 	 Also,	 when	 a	Motion	 for	
Post-Judgment	Relief	that	requires	a	fee	under	subsection	x	is	accompanied	by	a	Registration	of	a	
Foreign	Judgment,	the	total	fee	will	still	be	$80.00.	
	
Whenever	this	fee	applies	and	is	charged,	it	includes	a	$20.00	mediation	fee.	

	
16		A	motion	or	stipulation	to	modify	or	enforce	a	child	support	order	may	include	a	request	for	

attorney	 fees	 and	 still	 be	 exempt	 from	 the	 post-judgment	 filing	 fee.	 	 A	 fee	will	 be	 charged	 for	 a	
post-judgment	 motion	 or	 stipulation	 that	 raises	 additional	 issues.	 	 For	 example,	 a	 motion	 or	
stipulation	seeking	both	a	change	in	visitation	and	modification	of	child	support	requires	payment	of	
the	fee.	
	
17		As	with	a	motion	to	modify	or	enforce	a	child	support	order,	a	motion	for	contempt	alleging	the	

failure	 to	pay	child	support	may	 include	a	 request	 for	attorney	 fees	and	still	be	exempt	 from	the	
motion	filing	fee.		A	fee	will	be	charged	if	the	party	files	a	motion	for	contempt	that	alleges	a	basis	for	
contempt	 in	 addition	 to	 the	nonpayment	 of	 child	 support	 or	 requests	 relief	 relating	 to	non-child	
support	issues.		For	example,	if	a	motion	alleges	both	the	nonpayment	of	child	support	and	a	failure	
to	 follow	 a	 visitation	 schedule,	 or	 the	motion	 seeks	 both	 to	 recover	 unpaid	 child	 support	 and	 to	
change	a	visitation	schedule,	the	filing	fee	will	be	charged.	
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z.	 Filing/Registering	a	Foreign	Judgment		

• In	a	family	matter,	
• In	a	Protection	from	Abuse	Action,	or		
• In	 a	 Protection	 from	Harassment	Action	based	 on	
domestic	 violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	
trafficking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	 or	
unauthorized	 dissemination	 of	 certain	 private	
images	

No	fee	

aa.	 Filing/Registering	 a	 Foreign	 Judgment	 in	 a	 Protection	
from	Harassment	 Action	 that	 is	 not	 based	 on	 domestic	
violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	 or	
unauthorized	dissemination	of	certain	private	images	

**$175.00	

bb.	 Motion	to	Modify,	Extend,	or	Extinguish	a	 final	Order	of	
Protection	from	Abuse	when	filed	by	a	plaintiff	

No	fee	

cc.	 Motion	to	Modify	or	Extinguish	a	final	Order	of	Protection	
from	Abuse	when	filed	by	a	defendant	

$70.00	

dd.		 Motion	to	Modify,	Extend,	or	Extinguish	a	 final	Order	of	
Protection	from	Harassment,	except	there	shall	be	no	fee	
when	 filed	 by	 a	 plaintiff	 in	 a	 case	 involving	 domestic	
violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	 or	
unauthorized	dissemination	of	certain	private	images	

$70.00	

ee.	 Filing	Action	for	Recovery	of	Personal	Property	 **$85.00	
ff.	 Filing	Petition	for	Guardianship	of	Minor	 $50.00	
gg.	 Filing	 Post-Judgment	 Petition	 for	 Modification	 of	

Guardianship,	Termination	of	Guardianship,	Removal	 of	
Guardian,	or	Resignation	of	Guardian	

$40.00	

hh.	 Filing	Petition	for	Adoption	of	Minor18	 $65.00	
ii.	 Filing	Petition	for	Annulment	of	Adoption	Decree	 $50.00	

 
18		Additional	charges	for	background	checks	and	new	birth	certificates	must	be	paid	to	entities	

other	than	the	Judicial	Branch.	
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jj.	 Filing	Petition	for	Name	Change	of	Minor19	 $40.00	
kk.	 Filing	 an	Emergency	Petition	 for	Blood-Borne	Pathogen	

Testing	
No	fee	

ll.	 Filing	Petition	for	Special	Findings	and	Rulings	for	Certain	
At-Risk	Noncitizen	Children	

No	fee	

mm.	 Service	 by	 the	 court	 when	 the	 respondent’s	 address	 is	
confidential	and	service	by	sheriff	is	required20	

$30.00	

nn.	 Service	 by	 the	 court	 when	 the	 respondent’s	 address	 is	
confidential	and	service	by	sheriff	is	not	required21		

$10.00	

oo.	 Filing	in	Juvenile	Court	 No	fee	
pp.	 Petition	for	Sterilization	 No	fee	
	
	 4.		Fees	in	the	Violations	Bureau22	
a.	 Violations	Bureau	Late	Payment	Fee23	 $50.00	
b.	 Violations	Bureau	Re-Opening	Fee	(per	charge)	 $25.00	

 
19		No	fee	is	charged	when	a	name	change	is	requested	as	part	of	a	divorce,	adoption,	or	parentage	

action.	
	
20		This	fee	applies	only	when	the	filing	party	who	is	responsible	for	effectuating	service	cannot	do	

so	because	the	responding	party’s	address	is	confidential,	and	the	court	effectuates	service	on	the	
filing	party’s	behalf.	This	is	the	fee	that	applies	whenever	service	by	sheriff	is	required	(for	example,	
in	a	motion	for	contempt	action).		
	
21		This	fee	applies	only	when	the	filing	party	who	is	responsible	for	effectuating	service	cannot	do	

so	because	the	responding	party’s	address	is	confidential,	and	the	court	effectuates	service	on	the	
filing	party’s	behalf.	This	is	the	fee	that	applies	whenever	service	by	means	other	than	sheriff	is	an	
option,	even	if	ultimately	service	by	sheriff	is	used	(for	example,	this	fee	would	apply	for	the	service	
by	the	court	of	a	motion	to	modify,	which	may	be	served	by	certified	mail,	even	if	service	by	the	court	
is	unsuccessful	and	the	motion	is	ultimately	served	by	sheriff).		
	
22		For	appeal	fees,	see	subdivision	6	below.	
	
23		A	late	fee	will	be	calculated	separately	for	each	charge	on	which	a	fine	is	imposed	that	remains	

unpaid.	
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c.	 Court	 Management	 System	 Fee	 (imposed	 in addition	 to	
original	 traffic	 fines	 only	 for	 violations	 committed	 on	 or	
after	February	1,	2018)24	

$15.00	

	
	 5.	Mediation-Related	Fees	
a.	 Initial	mediation	in	Pre-Judgment	Family	Division	Matters	

(for	two	mediation	sessions)	
$160.00	

b.	 Initial	 mediation	 in	 Post-Judgment	 Family	 Division	
Matters,	 including	adoption	of	minors	and	guardianships	
of	minors25	(for	two	mediation	sessions)	

$160.00	

c.	 Additional	mediation	sessions	in	Family	Division	Matters26	 $160.00	
d.	 Discretionary	Civil	Referrals	to	CADRES27	 $		50.00	
e.	 Mediation	in	Land	Use	and	Natural	Pipeline	Matters	 $175.00	
f	 Foreclosure	Mediation	Fee	to	be	paid	by	plaintiff	 in	each	

Foreclosure	Action	filed	on	or	after	June	15,	200928	
$200.00	

g	 Mediation	in	Environmental	Enforcement	Matters	 $120.00	
h.	 Mediation	in	Forcible	Entry	and	Detainer	Actions	 Included	in	

filing	fee	
i.	 Mediation	in	Small	Claims	Actions	 Included	in	

filing	fee	

 
24		All	fees	collected	relating	to	this	subsection	shall	be	deposited	into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	

account	to	fund	the	Court	Management	System.		See	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A(3);	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284.	
	
25		Mediation	in	adoptions	and	guardianships	of	minors	is	voluntary.	
	
26		This	reflects	no	change	in	policy	or	fee,	but	has	not	previously	been	listed	in	the	fees	schedule.	
	
27		This	is	an	administrative	fee.		
	
28		This	is	an	administrative	fee	imposed	in	addition	to	the	filing	fee	upon	all	foreclosure	action	

filings	in	the	State	of	Maine	on	or	after	June	15,	2009.		The	revenue	generated	by	the	fee	will	be	used	
to	 fund	 a	 Foreclosure	 Diversion	 Program	 as	 authorized	 by	 the	 124th	 Legislature	 (see	P.L.	 2009,	
ch.	402).		Although	the	fee	is	imposed	upon	all	foreclosure	actions	regardless	of	the	underlying	nature	
of	the	action	or	statutory	authority	for	filing,	only	certain	residential	foreclosures	will	be	eligible	for	
inclusion	in	the	Diversion	Program.		Subsequent	orders	of	the	Court	will	outline	the	contours	and	
requirements	of	any	pilot	projects	or	state-wide	efforts.		
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j.	 Mediation	 in	Debt	 Collection	 actions	when	 brought	 by	 a	
debt	 buyer	 or	 debt	 collector	 as	 defined	 in	 32	 M.R.S.	
§	11002(5-A)	and	(6),	whether	filed	in	District	or	Superior	
Court	

Included	in	
filing	fee	

	
6.	Appeal	Fees	

a.	 Civil	Appeal	to	the	Superior	Court		 **$175.00	
b.	 Civil	 Appeal	 to	 the	 Supreme	 Judicial	 Court,	 except	 as	 to	

case	types	specified	below	
**$175.00	

c.	 Workers’	Compensation	Appeal	 *$135.00	
d.	 Unemployment	Compensation	Appeal	 No	fee	
e.	 Child	Protection	Appeal	 No	fee	
f.	 Protection	 from	 Harassment	 Appeal	 when	 the	 appeal	 is	

filed	 by	 a	 plaintiff	 who	 was	 issued	 a	 final	 order	 of	
protection	 based	 on	 domestic	 violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	
assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	or	unauthorized	dissemination	of	
certain	private	images	

No	fee	

g.	 Protection	from	Abuse	Appeal	when	the	appeal	is	filed	by	
a	plaintiff	who	was	issued	a	final	order	of	protection	

No	fee	

h.	 Criminal	Appeal	 No	fee	
	

7.	Late	Payment	of	Fines		
	 This	 section,	 relating	 to	 late	 payment	 of	 fines,	 applies	 to	 all	 fines	
imposed	after	December	31,	2003,	without	regard	to	the	date	of	the	offense	or	
the	date	of	the	charge.		When	a	criminal	fine	or	a	juvenile	court	fine	is	not	paid	
on	the	date	it	is	imposed,	or	on	the	date	that	the	payment	is	due,	if	the	time	for	
payment	is	extended	by	the	Court,	there	shall	be	a	late	payment	fee	assessed,	
in	addition	to	the	amount	due	on	the	fine,	the	Late	Payment	Fee	is	as	follows:	
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a.	 For	original	fines	less	than	or	equal	to	$100	 $25.00	
b.	 For	original	fines	greater	than	$100	and	less	than	or	equal	

to	$500	
$50.00	

c.	 For	original	fines	greater	than	$500	 $100.00	
	
	 The	 amount	 due	 on	 any	 late	 payment	 fee	 shall	 be	 determined	 by	 the	
amount	 of	 the	 fine	 specified	 on	 the	 face	 of	 the	 judgment,	without	 regard	 to	
increases	from	surcharges	or	decreases	from	partial	payments.		When	part	of	a	
fine	 is	 suspended,	 the	 amount	 due	 shall	 be	 determined	 by	 the	 remaining,	
unsuspended	portion	of	the	fine.		A	late	fee	will	be	calculated	separately	for	each	
charge	on	which	a	fine	is	imposed	that	remains	unpaid.	
	

B.	 Fees	Related	to	Writs	

1.	 Preparing	a	writ	and	renewal	of	writ	 $25.00	
2.	 Non-attested	copy	of	a	writ	(per	writ,	any	number	of	pages)	 $5.00	
3.	 Attested	copy	of	a	writ	(per	writ,	any	number	of	pages)	 $10.00	
4.	 Attestation	of	each	page	of	a	writ	(per	page	after	the	first	

page—added	 to	 the	 fee	 for	 an	 attested	 copy	 of	 a	writ	 in	
subdivision	3	above)	

$5.00	per	
page	

	
C.	 Fees	for	Summonses,	Subpoenas,	Booklets,	and	Other	Forms	

1.	 Form	with	Court	Seal	or	Clerk	Signature	 $5.00	
2.	 Subpoenas	 requested	 by	 a	 plaintiff	 in	 Protection	 from	

Abuse	 or	 Protection	 from	Harassment	Actions	when	 the	
complaint	 includes	 an	 allegation	 of	 domestic	 violence,	
stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	 or	 unlawful	
dissemination	of	certain	private	images	

No	fee	

3.	 Small	Claims,	Protection	from	Abuse,	and	Protection	from	
Harassment	Booklets	

No	fee	

4.	 Other	 forms—up	 to	 3	 copies	 (Requests	 for	 more	 than	
3	copies	 shall	be	 refused;	 requester	 can	arrange	copying	
elsewhere	or	copy	from	court	website.)	

No	fee	
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D.	 Fee	for	Ministerial	Act	(including	but	not	limited	to	the	
following):	

• Signature	 of	 Clerk	 on	 documents	 affecting	 real	
estate:	

o Lis	Pendens,	14	M.R.S.	§	4455	Certificate	
o 14	 M.R.S.	 §	 6321	 Certificate	 (in	 Foreclosure	
Action)	

o 14	 M.R.S.	 §	 6653	 Certificate	 (in	 Quiet	 Title	
Action)	

$5.00	

	

E.	 Copying	and	Attestation	Fees	
	
	 The	 following	copy	 fees	are	 to	be	charged	 for	copies	of	all	documents,	
except	 that	subdivision	B	above	applies	 to	writs,	and	each	party-of-record	 is	
entitled	to	one	nonattested	copy	of	a	judgment,	decision,	or	order	entered	by	a	
judge	or	a	default	order	entered	by	a	Clerk	when	the	copy	is	provided	in	lieu	of	
a	notice	of	docket	entry	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	77(d).	
	
1.	 Exemplifying	copies	(per	document)		

Form	#	CR-CV-FM-JV-040	
$5.00	

2.	 Attesting	copies	(per	document)	Form	#	CR-CV-FM-JV-041		 $5.00	
3.	 Copies,	including	copies	generated	by	a	computer	

• First	page	
• Each	subsequent	page	

	
$2.00	
$1.00	

	
	 Attestation	 fees	and	exemplification	 fees	are	 calculated	per	attestation	
and	per	exemplification	and	are	added	to	applicable	copy	fees.		Each	attested	
copy,	(whether	a	multiple	reproduction	of	the	same	document,	or	one	or	more	
copies	of	different	documents)	is	charged	the	attestation	fee,	regardless	of	the	
number	 of	 pages	 copied	 (except	 where	 the	 requestor	 wants	 each	 page	
separately	 attested,	 in	 which	 case	 the	 fee	 is	 charged	 for	 each	 page).	 	 The	
exemplification	fee	does	not	include	the	attestation,	and	the	charges	are	added	
together	 for	 each	 document.	 	 To	 exemplify	 a	 document,	 the	 Exemplification	
Form	CR-CV-FM-JV-040	is	used.	
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	 Separate	 documents	 that	 are	 legally	 part	 of	 a	 larger	 or	 legally	
consolidated	document,	for	example,	an	Income	Withholding	Order	that	is	on	a	
separate	sheet,	but	legally	a	part	of	a	divorce	judgment,	may	either	be	attested	
and	charged	for	separately,	if	requested,	or	provided	as	a	part	of	a	consolidated	
document	or	file.		If	the	copy	is	provided	as	a	part	of	a	consolidated	document	
or	file,	it	is	not	charged	a	separate	attestation	fee.		To	attest	multiple	documents	
or	an	entire	file,	the	Attestation	Form	CR-CV-FM-JV-041	is	used.	
	

F.	 Fees	for	Certificates	and	Abstracts	
	
1.	 Preparation,	 signature,	 and	 attestation	 of	 Short-Form	

Certificate	of	Judgment	of	Divorce	Form	#	FM-170	
$5.00	

2.	 Abstract	of	Divorce	Decree	 $10.00	
	

G.	 Miscellaneous	Fees	
	
1.	 Fee	for	action	as	Notary	Public	or	Dedimus	Justice29	 $10.00	
2.	 Postage	and	handling	fee	for	mail	requests	 $5.00	
3.	 Schedule,	trial	list,	administrative	order	 No	fee	
4.	 Attorney	Identification	Card30	

• Application	fee	
• Renewal	Fee	

	
$100.00	
$25.00	

	

H.	 Escrow	Accounts	

1.	 On	accounts	opened	on	or	after	July	1,	1989	 5%	of	total	proceeds	
unless	otherwise	

ordered	by	the	court	

 
29		No	fee	is	charged	for	notarization	of	papers	to	be	filed	with	the	court.	
	
30	 	 These	 fees	 are	 to	 implement	 the	 provisions	 of	 Me.	 Admin.	 Order	 JB-15-2	 section	 II(C)(2)	

(effective	May	1,	2015).	
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2.	 On	accounts	opened	before	July	1,	1989	 1/2	of	accrued	
interest	

	

I.	 Charge	for	Requests	for	Record	Checks			 	 	 								$		20.00	
	

Clerk’s	offices	should	respond	or	decline	to	respond	to	these	requests	as	
provided	 in	 the	 Administrative	 Order	 on	 Public	 Information	 and	
Confidentiality		
	

J.	 Rates	Applicable	to	Electronic	Recordings	and	Transcript	Orders	
	
1.	 Charge	by	Official	Court	Reporters	for	Transcripts	of	any	

court	proceedings31		
	
	
	
Additional	copies	

$3.00		
per	page		

for	an	original	
and	one	copy	

	
$	.50		

per	page	
2.	 Standard	 charge32	 by	 the	 Office	 of	 Transcript	

Operations,	or	its	contractor(s),	for	transcripts	of	
any	court	proceedings33	
	
	
Additional	copies	

Up	to	$4.50	
per	page		

for	an	original	
and	one	copy	

	
Up	to	$1.00	
per	page	

3.	 Additional	 charges	 for	 expedited	 or	 supplemental	 services	 may	 be	
charged,	 if	 agreed	 to	 by	 the	 requesting	 party/parties.	 	 Availability	 of	

 
31	 	Each	page	of	transcript	shall	have	at	least	twenty-five	typed	lines	and	each	full	 line	shall	be	

six	inches	in	length.		This	order	shall	not	preclude	the	practice	of	formatting	four	pages	of	transcript	
on	 a	 single	 sheet	 of	 paper,	 referred	 to	 in	 Maine	 Rule	 of	 Civil	 Procedure	 5(i)(2)	 as	 condensed	
transcripts.	
	
32		Standard	charges	apply	to	transcripts	produced	in	30	days;	charges	for	expedited	transcripts	

and	other	supplemental	services	may	be	imposed	if	requested	by	the	party/parties	responsible	for	
payment.	
	
33		Deposits	that	approximate	the	total	charge	shall	be	made	directly	with	the	Office	of	Transcript	

Operations	or	its	contractor(s).	
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expedited	 and	 supplemental	 services	 shall	 be	 pursuant	 to	 a	 menu	
published	 by	 the	 Office	 of	 Transcript	 Operations.	 	 Availability	 of	 any	
other	 services	 not	 listed	 shall	 be	 at	 the	 discretion	 of	 the	 State	 Court	
Administrator	or	designee.	

4.	 The	rate	to	be	charged	for	a	transcript	produced	on	an	expedited	basis,	
such	as	daily	copy,	shall	be	arranged	between	the	Official	Court	Reporter	
and	parties	to	an	action	ordering	such	a	transcript.		Availability	of	a	copy	
of	such	expedited	transcript	to	other	parties	shall	be	under	the	control	of	
the	presiding	justice.	

5.	 Duplicate	recordings	

• First	recordings	
• Subsequent	recordings	in	same	proceeding	
• Listening	 to	 recordings	 of	 court	
proceedings	pursuant	to	Civil	Rule	76H(e)	

	
$50.00	
$10.00	
$25.00	

per	hour	
6.	 Postage	for	items	mailed	 $5.00	
	
	

II.		PAYMENT	
	
	 The	Maine	Judicial	Branch	requires	that	fees	be	paid	in	full	at	the	time	a	
request	is	made,	and	the	Branch	must	issue	a	receipt	for	any	payment.		Payment	
must	be	made	in	U.S.	funds,	and	may	be	by	cash,	credit	card,	money	order,	or	
check,	including	out-of-state	instruments.	 	Foreign	checks	must	be	imprinted	
as	“U.S.	Funds”	and	foreign	checks	not	so	imprinted	will	not	be	accepted.	
	
	 Payment	 arrangements	 for	 transcripts	 produced	 by	 an	 Official	 Court	
Reporter	 shall	 be	made	 directly	 with	 the	 Official	 Court	 Reporter.	 	 Payment	
arrangements	 for	 transcripts	 processed	 through	 the	 Office	 of	 Transcript	
Operations	shall	be	made	directly	with	its	contractor(s).	
	
	 A	Clerk	may	refuse	to	accept	payment	by	check	from	a	person	who	has	
previously	 presented	 a	 check	 that	 has	 not	 been	 honored	 by	 a	 financial	
institution	or	from	a	person	previously	convicted	of	the	crime	of	negotiating	a	
worthless	instrument,	or	if	the	Clerk	has	information	that	indicates	there	are	
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not	 sufficient	 funds	 available	 to	 cover	 the	 check.	 	 A	 $20.00	 charge	 shall	 be	
assessed	for	each	returned	check.	
	
	 Mail	 requests	 for	 copies	 or	 forms	 will	 be	 honored,	 and,	 unless	 a	
self-addressed	stamped	envelope	is	enclosed	with	the	request,	a	standard	$5.00	
postage	and	handling	charge	will	be	assessed	for	each	required	mailing.	
	
	 Charge	accounts	may	not	be	maintained	by	a	Clerk.	
	
	 When	the	funds	in	an	escrow	account	are	ordered	by	the	Court	to	be	paid	
to	a	person	entitled	to	 these	 funds,	 the	Clerk	shall	 instruct	 the	depository	to	
write	a	check	to	“Treasurer,	State	of	Maine”	for	5%	of	the	total	amount	in	the	
account	 at	 the	 time	 of	 distribution.	 	 This	 applies	 only	 to	 escrow	 accounts	
opened	 on	 or	 after	 July	 1,	 1989.	 	 For	 escrow	 accounts	 opened	 prior	 to	
July	1,	1989,	 the	 Clerk	 shall	 instruct	 the	 depository	 to	 divide	 in	 half	 and	
distribute	the	interest	between	the	State	of	Maine	and	the	person	entitled	to	the	
funds.	
	

III.		EXEMPTIONS	FROM	FEES	OTHER	THAN	FEES	RELATED	TO	THE	
PRODUCTION	OF	TRANSCRIPTS	OR	AUDIO	RECORDINGS	

	
	 The	following	Maine	entities	are	exempt	from	the	imposition	of	the	above	
fees:	
	

• Judicial	Branch	
• Legislature	
• Executive	Department	Agencies	
• Department	of	Attorney	General	
• District	Attorneys	
• Probate	Courts	
• State	Independent	Administrative	Agencies	performing	a	state-wide	
function,	such	as	the	Maine	State	Housing	Authority	and	the	Finance	
Authority	of	Maine	

• Guardians	ad	Litem	appointed	and	paid	for	by	the	court	
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	 Also	exempt	from	the	imposition	of	the	above	fees	are:	
	

• Out-of-state	 official	 entities	 that	 perform	 a	 general	 governmental	
function	such	as:	 	
o Courts	
o Department	of	Health	and	Human	Services	or	like	agencies	

	
	 The	following	entities	are	NOT	exempt	from	the	imposition	of	the	above	
fees:	
	

• Federal	Agencies,	including	military	services,	except	where	exempt	by	
federal	statutes	in	which	case	it	would	be	the	agency’s	responsibility	
to	demonstrate	that	it	has	that	exemption	

• Municipalities	
• Other	local	units	of	government	
• Regional	entities	
• State	chartered	entities	that	do	NOT	perform	a	general	governmental	
function,	including	the	University	System	
	

	 Police	Departments,	defense	counsel,	or	parties	to	a	criminal	action	are	
entitled	to	one	copy	(attested	or	nonattested)	of	any	document	relating	to	that	
action	pursuant	to	M.R.	Crim.	P.	53.		Nonparties	are	subject	to	the	fees	set	forth	
in	this	Schedule.	
	
	 Litigants	who	have	been	 granted	 in	 forma	pauperis	 status	pursuant	 to	
M.R.	 Civ.	 P.	 91,	 counsel	 for	 those	 litigants,	 and	 any	 counsel	 appointed	 or	
assigned	 by	 the	 court	 are	 exempt,	 during	 the	 pendency	 of	 that	 action,	 from	
payment	of	fees34	when	the	requested	copy	or	service	is	essential	to	the	conduct	
of	the	action.		
	
	 Copies	 of	 documents	 in	 protection	 from	 abuse	 or	 protection	 from	
harassment	actions,	attested	or	not,	will	be	provided	without	charge	to	parties,	

 
34		This	exemption	does	not	apply	to	fees	related	to	electronic	recordings	of	court	proceedings	or	

the	 production	 of	 transcripts	 provided	 through	 the	 Office	 of	 Transcript	 Operations	 or	 its	
contractor(s)	or	Official	Court	Reporters,	see	subdivision	I(J),	requested	by	litigants	represented	by	
court	appointed	or	assigned	counsel	or	requested	by	court	appointed	or	court	assigned	counsel.		In	
such	cases,	the	Maine	Commission	on	Indigent	Legal	Services	is	responsible	for	payment.	
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parties’	 counsel	 or	 authorized	 representatives,	 domestic	 violence	 or	 sexual	
assault	services	advocates,	and	law	enforcement	agencies.	
	
	 The	exemptions	set	forth	in	this	section	do	not	apply	to	fees	related	to	the	
production	of	transcripts	or	audio	recordings.	
	

IV.		STANDARDS	FOR	DOCUMENT	MANAGEMENT	
	
A.	 Preparation	and	Signature	of	Documents	
	
	 Clerks	 of	 Court	 may	 sign	 certificates	 or	 documents	 prepared	 or	
completed	by	parties	or	counsel,	but	parties	and	counsel	are	responsible	for	the	
accuracy	of	the	information	contained	in	the	document	presented	to	the	Clerk.			
	
B.	 Retention	and	Distribution	of	Documents	
	
	 Only	one	original	may	be	prepared	and	executed	of	a	judgment,	order,	or	
other	document	that	has	independent	legal	significance.		The	original	executed	
document	 must	 be	 retained	 in	 the	 case	 file.	 	 If	 there	 is	 a	 charge	 for	 the	
preparation	of	the	document	set	by	this	Schedule	and	Procedure,	one	attested	
copy	is	to	be	provided	without	additional	charge.		When	the	legal	equivalent	of	
an	original	is	necessary,	for	example,	for	filing	in	a	Registry	of	Deeds,	an	attested	
copy	should	be	provided	and	the	original	retained	in	the	file.	
	
	 This	procedure	does	not	apply	to	certificates	that	do	not	in	themselves	
have	a	legal	significance,	but	that	simply	reflect	the	existence	of	a	filing,	event,	
or	 other	 document	 with	 that	 significance	 that	 is	 retained	 in	 the	 court	 file	
(i.e.,	short-form	certificate	of	judgment	of	divorce;	10	M.R.S.	§	3261	certificate;	
14	M.R.S.	 §§	2401(3)(F),	4455,	6321,	6653	certificates).	 	However,	 if	 a	Clerk	
executes	such	a	certificate	or	document,	 it	 should	be	reflected	 in	 the	docket.		
Therefore,	a	one-page	Clerk’s	certificate	would	cost	$5.00,	which	is	the	fee	for	
the	 Clerk’s	 signature.	 	 The	 attorney	 or	 party	 in	 this	 case	would	 receive	 the	
original,	 signed	 certificate,	 not	 an	 attested	 copy.	 	 However,	 in	 the	 case	 of	 a	
Clerk’s	 certificate	 that	 is	made	 a	 part	 of	 the	 judgment,	 the	 original	must	 be	
retained.	
	 	
 Whenever	a	document	or	attested	copy	must	be	filed	with	an	agency	or	
organization,	including	the	Registry	of	Deeds,	the	parties	will	be	responsible	for	
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filing	 those	 documents	 or	 attested	 copies	 with	 the	 appropriate	 agency,	
including	 the	 Registry	 of	 Deeds.	 	 Clerks	 will	 no	 longer	 accept	 payment	 for	
agencies	or	Registries	of	Deeds	and	will	not	forward	such	payment	on	behalf	of	
any	party.	
	
Promulgation	Date:		January	12,	2024	 For	the	Court,	
	
	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 /s/	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 Valerie	Stanfill		
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 Chief	Justice	
	
	

	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	2-24)	Effective	February	12,	2024;	Dated	January	12,	2024	
Signed	by:	Valerie	Stanfill,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	change	the	fee	for	first	duplicate	recordings	in	section	I(J)(5)	from	$25	to	$50.		
	
Historical	Derivation	of	JB-05-26:	
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	11-23)	Effective	November	13,	2023;	Dated	November	7,	2023	
Signed	by:	Valerie	Stanfill,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	indicate	that	there	is	no	fee	in	the	District	Court	for	filings	in	the	Juvenile	Court	or	
for	petitions	for	sterilization.		
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.6-22)	Effective	June	1,	2022;	Dated	May	17,	2022	
Signed	by:	Valerie	Stanfill,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	 to	 (1)	clarify	 applicability	of	 filing	 fee	 in	 actions	brought	by	a	debt	buyer	or	debt	
collector,	including	money	judgment	disclosures,	and	update	statutory	references;	(2)	clarify	
that	 with	 regard	 to	 M.R.	 Civ.	 P.	 55,	 the	 filing	 fee	 applies	 to	 both	motions	 and	 requests;	
(3)	remove	the	specified	filing	fee	in	small	claims	actions	brought	by	a	Title	32	debt	collector;		
(4)	impose	a	fee	for	the	registration	of	a	foreign	protection	from	harassment	order	that	does	
not	 involve	 domestic	 violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	 or	 unauthorized	
dissemination	 of	 certain	 private	 images;	 (5)	 increase	 the	 filing	 fee	 for	 post-judgment	
motions	filed	by	defendants	in	protection	from	abuse	and	protection	from	harassment	cases;	
(6)	 increase	the	filing	fee	for	post-judgment	motions	filed	by	plaintiffs	 in	protection	from	
harassment	 cases	 that	 do	 not	 involve	 domestic	 violence,	 stalking,	 sexual	 assault,	 sex	
trafficking,	or	unauthorized	dissemination	of	certain	private	 images;	(7)	 impose	a	 fee	 for	
when	 the	 court	 effectuates	 service	 for	 a	 filing	 party	 because	 the	 respondent’s	 address	 is	
confidential;	(8)	make	the	initial	mediation	fee	uniform	for	pre-	and	post-judgment	Family	
Division	 Matters;	 (9)	 make	 the	 filing	 fee	 for	 appeals	 to	 the	 Superior	 Court	 uniform;	
(10)	change	the	fees	for	attested	and	non-attested	copies	of	writs	to	be	per	writ	instead	of	
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per	page	unless	every	page	is	attested;	(11)	eliminate	reference	to	Title	19,	which	has	long	
been	superseded	by	Title	19-A;	and	(12)	update	form	numbers	and	eliminate	a	form	number	
where	use	of	the	form	is	not	mandatory.	
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	2-21.2)	Effective	February	11,	2021;	Dated	February	11,	2021		
Signed	by:	Andrew	M.	Mead,	Acting	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	(1)	 revise	 the	 explanatory	 note	 for	 A.O.	 JB-05-26	 (A.	 2-21)	 to	 summarize	 all	
revisions	and	(2)	omit	from	subdivision	I(D)	the	provision	of	a	fee	for	signature	of	a	clerk	on	
an	abstract	of	divorce	decree	because	subdivision	I(F)(2)	supplies	the	fee	for	an	abstract	of	
divorce	decree.	
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	2-21)	Effective	February	4,	2021;	Dated	February	4,	2021	(explanatory	note	
revised	February	11,	2021)	
Signed	by:	Andrew	M.	Mead,	Acting	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	(1)	reformat	the	document,	include	new	subdivision	numbers	and	letters,	and	list	
all	fees	for	each	court	separately;	(2)	provide	in	subdivisions	I(A)(2)(b),	(3)(b),	and	(5)(j)	
that	a	$127	surcharge	 is	 imposed	when	a	statutorily	defined	debt	collector	commences	a	
debt	collection	action,	see	32	M.R.S.	§	11002,	and	that	a	$45	mediation	fee	is	included	in	the	
filing	fee	in	such	actions;	(3)	clarify	in	subdivision	I(A)(3)(u)	that	there	is	no	fee	for	a	plaintiff	
filing	a	motion	for	contempt	either	in	a	protection	from	abuse	action	or	in	a	protection	from	
harassment	action	 involving	domestic	violence,	stalking,	sexual	assault,	 sex	 trafficking,	or	
unauthorized	dissemination	of	certain	private	images;	(4)	clarify	in	subdivision	I(A)(3)(kk)	
that	 there	 is	no	 fee	 for	 filing	a	petition	 for	 special	 findings	and	rulings	 for	certain	at-risk	
noncitizen	children	pursuant	to	22	M.R.S.	§	4099-I;	(5)	clarify	in	the	footnote	to	subdivision	
I(A)(3)(x)	that	when	a	Motion	for	Post	Judgment	Relief	that	requires	a	fee	under	subsection	
x	is	accompanied	by	a	Registration	of	a	Foreign	Judgment,	the	total	fee	will	still	be	$80.00;	
(6)	clarify	in	subdivision	I(C)(2)	that	there	is	no	fee	for	a	plaintiff	requesting	a	subpoena	in	
a	protection	from	abuse	or	protection	from	harassment	action	when	the	complaint	alleges	
domestic	violence,	stalking,	sexual	assault,	sex	trafficking,	or	unauthorized	dissemination	of	
certain	private	images;	(7)	provide	a	$10	fee	in	subdivision	I(F)(2)	for	the	issuance	of	an	
abstract	of	divorce	decree,	 including	any	attachments,	19-A	M.R.S.	§	953(7);	(8)	clarify	 in	
subdivision	IV(B)	that	parties	are	responsible	for	filing	documents	with	other	agencies	or	
organizations	 and	 that	 clerks	 will	 not	 accept	 payments	 for	 those	 other	 agencies	 or	
organizations,	 including	 any	 Registry	 of	 Deeds;	 (9)	 eliminate	 reference	 to	 the	 fee	 for	 a	
certificate	 of	 good	 standing	 for	 an	 attorney;	 and	 (10)	 eliminate	 the	 provision	 regarding	
filing/registering	a	foreign	judgment	for	post-judgment	relief	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	120	in	
an	action	under	Title	19	or	19-A.		The	document	has	also	been	reorganized	and	reformatted	
for	clarity,	with	minor	changes	in	language	to	adapt	to	the	format.	
	
A.O.	 JB-05-26	 (A.	 7-20.2)	 Effective	 July	 27,	 2020;	 Dated	 July	 27,	 2020	 (explanatory	 note	
revised	July	30,	2020)	
Signed	by:	Andrew	M.	Mead,	Acting	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	(1)	clarify	that	there	is	no	fee	for	registering	a	foreign	judgment	in	a	protection	
from	harassment	action	based	on	domestic	violence,	stalking,	sexual	assault,	sex	trafficking,	
or	unauthorized	dissemination	of	certain	private	images	pursuant	to	the	Violence	Against	
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Women	Act,	see	34	U.S.C.S.	§	10450	(LEXIS	through	Pub.	L.	No.	116-149);	and	(2)	clarify	that	
there	is	a	fee	for	a	Post-Judgment	Petition	for	Modification	of	Guardianship,	Termination	of	
Guardianship,	Removal	of	Guardian,	or	Resignation	of	Guardian.			
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	7-20)	Effective	July	20,	2020;	Dated	July	20,	2020	
Signed	by:	Andrew	M.	Mead,	Acting	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	 to	 (1)	 set	 forth	 a	 fee	 schedule	 for	 payment	 of	 fees	 in	 protection	 from	 abuse	 and	
protection	from	harassment	matters	when	the	fee	is	not	prohibited	by	the	Violence	Against	
Women	Act,	see	34	U.S.C.S.	§	10450	(LEXIS	through	Pub.	L.	No.	116-146);	and	(2)	add	fees	
for	 Petition	 for	 Modification	 of	 Guardianship,	 Termination	 of	 Guardianship,	 Removal	 of	
Guardian,	or	Resignation	of	Guardian,	as	well	as	Petition	to	Annul	Adoption	Decree.		
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	9-19)	Effective	October	2,	2019;	Dated	October	2,	2019	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	 to	 (1)	 improve	 readability	 of	 this	 section;	and	 (2)	 include	 domestic	 violence	 and	
sexual	assault	services	advocates	among	lists	of	persons	to	whom	copies	will	be	provided	
without	charge.	
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	9-19)	Effective	September	19,	2019;	Dated	July	25,	2019	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	amend	section	I(A)(4)	to	(1)	clarify	in	the	footnote	to	“Entry	of	a	Family	Matter	
Action”	that,	when	a	grandparent	visitation	action	is	filed,	it	is	always	a	new	action	requiring	
payment	of	the	fee	for	entry	of	a	family	matter	action,	(2)	substitute,	in	that	same	footnote,	
the	term	“post-judgment”	for	“post-divorce,”	in	describing	the	termination	of	parental	rights	
actions	to	which	the	fee	applies,	and	(3)	impose	the	$127	surcharge	required	by	P.L.	2019,	
ch.	509,	§	3	(codified	at	4	M.R.S.	§	18-A(3-A)(C))	for	small	claims	actions	and	money	judgment	
disclosures	brought	by	debt	collectors	as	defined	in	32	M.R.S.	§	11002(6).	
	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	7-18)	Effective	July	1,	2018;	Dated	June	11,	2018	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	(1)	increase	certain	fees	to	include	a	$15	(marked	*)	or	$25	(marked	**)	fee	that	
will	 be	 deposited	 into	 an	Other	 Special	 Revenue	 account	 to	 fund	 the	 Court	Management	
System,	see	4	M.R.S.	§	17-A;	P.L.	2017,	ch.	284;	(2)	separate	out	the	types	of	appeals	to	which	
such	fees	will	apply;	(3)	impose	a	$15	Case	Management	System	Surcharge	on	fines	imposed	
in	criminal	and	civil	matters	and	administrative	enforcement	or	licensing	actions	that	will	be	
deposited	 into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	account	 to	 fund	 the	Court	Management	System;	
(4)	impose	an	additional	$100	fee	for	appearances	pro	hac	vice	to	be	deposited	into	an	Other	
Special	Revenue	account	to	fund	the	Court	Management	System;	(5)	provide	that	there	is	no	
fee	for	filing	an	emergency	petition	for	blood-borne	pathogen	testing;	and	(6)	clarify	that	the	
Violations	Bureau	Re-Opening	Fee	is	imposed	on	a	per-charge	basis.	
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A.O.	 JB-05-26	(A.	12-17)	Effective	January	1,	2018,	except	that	section	I(C)	 is	effective	for	
violations	occurring	on	or	after	February	1,	2018;	Dated	December	18,	2017	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	(1)	add	the	filing	fee	for	 filing/registering	a	 foreign	 judgment	on	a	general	civil	
action;	(2)	 clarify	 that	 there	 is	no	 filing	 fee	 for	 filing/registering	a	 foreign	 judgment	on	a	
family	matter	or	protection	 from	abuse	action,	or	 entry	of	 a	protection	 from	harassment	
action	with	an	allegation	of	domestic	violence,	stalking,	or	sexual	assault;	(3)	provide	a	fee	
for	filing/registering	Foreign	Judgment	for	post-judgment	relief	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	120	
in	an	action	under	 title	19	or	19-A,	 including	a	 stipulated	amendment	 to	a	 judgment	but	
excluding	a	motion	or	stipulation	to	modify	or	enforce	a	child	support	order,	or	a	motion	to	
enforce	a	child	custody	order	pursuant	to	19-A	M.R.S.	§	1763	et	seq.;	(4)	clarify	that	no	fee	
will	 be	 charged	 for	 entry	 of	 an	 emancipation	 action;	 (5)	 add	 a	 footnote	 indicating	 that	
Violations	Bureau	late	fees	are	imposed	on	a	per-violation	basis;	(6)	add	Court	Management	
System	fees	on	original	traffic	fines	for	violations	committed	on	or	after	February	1,	2018,	
with	the	fees	deposited	into	an	Other	Special	Revenue	account;	and	(7)	make	minor	stylistic	
and	formatting	changes.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	7-16)	Effective:	July	29,	2016;	Dated	July	25,	2016	
Signed	by:	Donald	G.	Alexander,	Senior	Associate	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	indicate	by	footnote	in	section	I(A)(1)	that	there	shall	be	no	filing	fee	for	a	notice	
of	appeal	“in	Unemployment	Compensation,	Child	Protection,	or	Criminal	actions	as	set	forth	
in	subsection	C	below,”	and	that	“the	fee	for	a	Workers’	Compensation	Appeal	is	established	
separately	 in	subsection	C	below”;	 to	provide,	 in	section	I(A)(2),	 that,	 for	purposes	of	 the	
filing	 fee,	 a	 family	 matter	 pre-judgment	 or	 post-judgment	motion	 for	 contempt	 shall	 be	
treated	as	a	motion	brought	pursuant	to	M.R.	Civ.	P.	66,	not	as	a	motion	for	post-judgment	
relief	 brought	 pursuant	 to	M.R.	Civ.	 P.	 120;	 to	 change	 the	words	 “Protective	 Custody”	 to	
“Child	Protection”	 in	 section	 I(A)(2),	 consistent	with	Title	22,	 chapter	1071	of	 the	Maine	
Revised	Statutes;	to	add	fees	in	section	I(A)(4)	for	filing	a	petition	for	guardianship	of	a	minor	
($50.00),	a	petition	for	adoption	of	a	minor	($65.00),	and	a	name	change	($40.00);	to	note	
that,	with	respect	to	an	adoption	of	a	minor,	additional	charges	for	background	checks	and	
new	birth	certificates	must	be	paid	to	entities	other	than	the	Judicial	Branch;	to	note	that	no	
fee	is	charged	when	a	name	change	is	requested	as	part	of	a	divorce,	adoption,	or	parentage	
action;	to	provide,	in	section	I(A)(6),	that	the	initial	mediation	fee	in	post-judgment	Family	
Division	matters	applies	in	a	proceeding	for	adoption	or	guardianship	of	a	minor;	to	note	
that	mediation	in	adoptions	and	guardianships	is	voluntary;	and	to	state	in	Section	I(C)	that	
there	is	no	fee	for	child	protection	appeals.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	8-15)	Effective	and	dated:	August	24,	2015	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	(1)	in	section	I(A)(2),	increase	the	fee	for	filing	a	motion	for	post-judgment	relief	
pursuant	 to	 M.R.	 Civ.	 P.	 120	 in	 an	 action	 under	 title	 19	 or	 19-A,	 including	 a	 stipulated	
amendment	to	a	judgment	but	excluding	a	motion	or	stipulation	to	modify	or	enforce	a	child	
support	order,	from	$60.00	to	$80.00	(which	includes	a	$20.00	mediation	fee);	(2)	in	section	
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I(A)(2),	establish	a	$100.00	late	waiver	fee	(applicable	to	a	waiver	filed	more	than	5	business	
days	 after	 failure	 to	 appear	 in	 a	 Criminal	 Action),	 4	M.R.S.	 §§	 164,	 164-A;	 (3)	 in	 section	
I(A)(4),	 increase	 the	 fee	 for	 entry	 of	 a	 forcible	 entry	 and	detainer	 action	 from	$70.00	 to	
$75.00	to	include	a	mediation	fee	of	$15.00	instead	of	$10.00;	(4)	in	section	I(A)(4),	increase	
the	fee	for	entry	of	a	small	claims	action	from	$50.00	to	$55.00	to	include	a	mediation	fee	of	
$15.00	instead	of	$10.00;	(5)	in	section	I(A)(6),	replace	the	$160.00	fee	for	pre-judgment	or	
post-judgment	mediation	pursuant	to	CADRES	in	Family	Division	matters	with	separate	fees	
of	$160.00	for	the	first	mediation	session	in	pre-judgment	Family	Division	matters	(for	two	
mediation	 sessions)	and	$140.00	 for	 the	 first	mediation	 session	 in	post-judgment	Family	
Division	matters	(for	two	mediation	sessions);	and	(6)	in	section	I(I),	establish	the	fees	for	
applying	for	and	renewing	attorney	identification	cards.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	7-14)	Effective	and	dated:	July	16,	2014	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	state	clearly	in	section	I(A)	that	a	fee	exemption	applies	to	motions	for	contempt	
that	allege	only	a	failure	to	pay	child	support.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	6-14)	Effective:	June	1,	2014,	Dated:	May	27,	2014	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	 to	 clearly	 state	 that	 the	 fee	 exemptions	 do	 not	 apply	 to	 fees	 associated	with	 the	
production	of	transcripts	and	audio	recordings,	including	for	state	agencies;	to	refer	to	the	
Office	 of	 Transcript	 Operations	 and	 to	 include	 that	 Office’s	 contractor(s);	 to	 clarify	 that	
payment	 arrangements	 for	 transcripts	 produced	 by	 an	 Official	 Court	 Reporter	 be	 made	
directly	with	 the	 Official	 Court	 Reporter	 and	 that	 payment	 arrangements	 for	 transcripts	
processed	 through	 the	 Office	 of	 Transcript	 Operations	 be	 made	 directly	 with	 its	
contractor(s);	 to	 include	 a	 sixty-dollar	 fee	 for	 filing	 of	 a	 motion	 pursuant	 to	
M.R.	Civ.	P.	55(b)(2);	to	increase	the	fee	for	requests	for	records	checks	in	section	I(K)	from	
$15.00	to	$20.00;	to	place	“Guardians	Ad	Litem	appointed	and	paid	for	by	the	Court”	in	the	
part	of	section	III	that	refers	to	Maine	entities;	to	clarify	references	to	Clerks	as	defined	in	
the	Administrative	Order;	and	to	make	minor	technical	corrections.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	10-13)	Effective:	October	9,	2013,	Dated:	October	29,	2013	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	include	a	filing	fee	for	actions	asserting	the	filing	of	false	recordable	instruments	
against	 public	 employees	 and	 public	 officials	 pursuant	 to	 P.L.	 2013,	 ch.	 160	 (effective	
May	29,	2013).		The	Order	is	also	amended	to	correct	the	rule	citation	for	filing	motions	for	
post-judgment	relief	in	a	family	matter,	to	correct	footnote	4	in	which	the	postage	fee	was	
removed	pursuant	to	A.	9-11,	and	to	provide	the	correct	form	number	for	the	Certificate	of	
Judgment	of	Divorce	Form.	
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Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	2-13)	Effective	and	dated:	February	15,	2013	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	clarify	the	fee	for	filing	an	action	for	the	recovery	of	personal	property.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	6-12)	Effective	and	dated:	July	6,	2012	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	to	change	the	cost	for	transcripts	in	Section	I(L)	and	adds	footnote	9	in	that	section;	
also	adds	footnote	11	in	Section	III.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	9-11)	Effective	and	dated:	September	19,	2011	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	7-10)	Effective	and	dated:	July	1,	2010	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
Issued	 to	 clarify	 the	 responsibility	 for	 the	 cost	 of	 transcript	 production	 and	 trial	 record	
review	in	cases	when	counsel	is	assigned	by	the	court	in	response	to	legislation	creating	the	
Maine	 Commission	 on	 Indigent	 Legal	 Services.	 	 See	 P.L.	 2009,	 ch.	 419.	 	 See	 also	
M.R.	Crim.	P.	44,	44A,	44B	&	44C	and	M.R.	Civ.	P.	88.	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	08-09)	Effective	and	dated:	July	31,	2009	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	6-09	&	07-09)	Effective:	June	15,	2009,	and	July	1,	2009,	Dated:	June	8,	2009	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
(This	 amended	 order	 was	 effective	 July	 1,	 2009,	 except	 for	 one	 provision	 relating	 to	
foreclosure	action	filings	that	was	effective	June	15,	2009.)	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	6-08rev)	Effective:	June	1,	2008,	Dated:	May	5,	2008	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	6-08)	Effective:	June	1,	2008,	Dated:	April	15,	2008	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	7-07)	Effective:	July	1,	2007,	Dated:	June	13,	2007	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
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Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	(A.	1-06)	Effective:	January	1,	2006,	Dated:	December	19,	2005	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-26	Effective:	October	1,	2005,	Dated:	September	15,	2005	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures	
A.O.	JB-05-3	Effective:	August	1,	2005,	Dated:	July	13,	2005	
Signed	by:		Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures		
Effective:	January	1,	2005,	Dated:	November	23,	2004	
Signed	by:		Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Revised	Court	Fees	Schedule	and	Document	Management	Procedures		
Dated:	February	23,	2004	
Signed	by:		Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	
	
Court	Fees	
AO	JB-00-04,	Effective:	January	1,	2001,	Dated:	December	7,	2000	
Signed	by:	James	T.	Glessner,	State	Court	Administrator	
	
Modifying	Transcript	Rates	Of	Official	Court	Reporters	
AO	JB-00-02	Rev.	(which	replaced	SJC-406	and	amended	SJC-l18),	Dated:		April	19,	2002	
Signed	by:	Leigh	I.	Saufley,	Chief	Justice,	Maine	Supreme	Judicial	Court	and	
Vendean	V.	Vafiades,	Chief	Judge,	Maine	District	Court	


