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Evicting a Tenant
from a Residence
for not Paying Rent

For more information about eviction visit  
www.courts.maine.gov/help/eviction

is to serve the tenant. For each tenant, give the 
sheriff two copies of the complaint, summons, 
information sheet and notice regarding electronic 
service (keep one copy for yourself). It’s up to the 
landlord to make sure the sheriff has unimpeded 
access to the front door of the unit to be able to 
serve the papers on the tenant. 

If the sheriff tries 3 times on 3 separate days 
and can’t serve the tenant, the sheriff can leave a 
copy at the home. The papers will also have to be 
mailed USPS first class. The sheriff will either mail 
the papers or let you know you need to do so.  
Either way you’ll need to file an affidavit (a sworn 
statement) to show service was made this way.  
Use form CV-204 to do this. 

Remember you need have the sheriff serve, 
each defendant with all four forms at least 14 
days before the hearing date.

“Return of service” is how you tell the court that 
the defendant was served.   

Step 4. File with the Court
At least 3 business days before the hearing, file:

• The Notice to Quit and
• The original complaint and
• T�he original summons for each defendant,

with the return of service (the paper signed
by the sheriff showing he gave the paper-
work to the tenant, or CV-204, with attach-
ment, to prove the tenant was served) and

• A copy of the lease if there is one and
• The filing fee of $100.

Step 5. Go to the Hearing
Go to the hearing even if your tenant doesn’t. You 
will get more instructions from the judge at the 
hearing. Mediation is available at the court on the 
day of hearing at no additional cost.

If you win in court
If the judge decides in your favor, you will be enti-
tled to a judgment for possession of the premises 
and a “writ of possession.”  Unless the tenant 
pays the back rent and any costs and fees owed, 
the law allows the writ of possession to issue 7 
days after judgment enters. If the tenant has not 
moved out by that time, you need to purchase the 
writ from the clerk and hire a sheriff to serve the 
writ of possession on the tenants. After the writ 
is served, the tenant will have 48 hours to move 
out.    

In court, many cases are decided by agreement 
of the parties. A mediator is available to meet 
with the landlord and tenant to talk about how 
they might settle the case. Often tenants agree to 
move out by a certain date, and landlords dismiss 
the case or ask the court to continue the case to 
a future date and leave open the option to seek 
a judgment if the tenant has not moved out as 
agreed. If the case settles, landlords often do not 
need to get a writ and have it served, and might 
not need to get a judgment against the tenant.

Other bases for eviction
Other reasons for eviction are in the Maine 
Revised Statutes, Title 14, Chapter 709. 

Back rent
Eviction is a process to get a tenant to leave the 
rental unit.  It is not a process to collect back 
rent. To collect back rent you would need to file a 
separate case. This is often done in Small Claims 
Court.   



How to evict a tenant from a 
residence for not paying rent
In Maine eviction is called “Forcible Entry & 
Detainer” or “FED” and not paying rent is “non-
payment.”  There may be other grounds to evict 
a tenant; this flyer only deals with nonpayment 
of rent for residential tenants. If there is a lease 
in effect you will need to follow the terms of the 
lease as well as complete the following steps.

If you are a landlord (plaintiff), take these steps 
to get a judgment to evict a tenant for not pay-
ing rent.

Step 1. Notice to Quit and Information 
Sheet
The “Notice to Quit” tells the tenant that rent is 
past due and they need to pay by a stated dead-
line or face eviction. If you have a lease, you need 
to prepare and serve the Notice as required by the 
lease.  

7-Day Notice to Quit (14 M.R.S. § 6002(1)): 
Unless the lease states otherwise, if a tenant is 
at least 7 days late paying rent, a 7-day Notice 
to quit gives them 7 days to pay, warning that if 
they don’t pay what they owe, you will take them 
to court to evict. Maine law provides, however,  
that if the tenant does pay the amount due within 
7 days, the Notice to Quit is void (no longer in 
effect). 

Contents of the 7-day Notice To Quit: Include the 
following in the Notice:

• That rent is 7 days or more past due
• �The amount of rent that’s 7 days or more past 

due
• �That the tenant has the right to contest the 

eviction in court

• �The statement: “If you pay the amount of 
rent due as of the date of this notice before 
this notice expires, then this notice as it 
applies to rent arrearage is void.  After this 
notice expires, if you pay all rental arrears, 
all rent due as of the date of payment and 
any filing fees and service of process fees 
actually paid by the landlord before the writ 
of possession issues at the completion of the 
eviction process, then your tenancy will be 
reinstated.” 

Information Sheet (form CV-256): The “Res- 
idential Forcible Entry and Detainer (Eviction) 
Information Sheet and Mediation Request” must 
be served with each Notice to Quit in a residen-
tial tenancy. You can get this form from a district 
court clerk or download it from  
www.courts.maine.gov/forms. You do not need 
to write any information on the form.

Service of the Notice to Quit and Information 
Sheet: You or anyone acting on your behalf as 
landlord can give the notice and information 
sheet to the tenant.  If three good faith efforts 
have been made to serve the tenant by hand the 
notice and information sheet can be served by 
both mailing them to the tenant and leaving a 
copy of them at the rental unit (neither of these, 
alone, is enough).

Step 2. Starting a Court Case
Three more court forms are needed to bring an 
eviction case in court. You can get them from a 
district court clerk or download them from 
www.courts.maine.gov/forms.  

Complaint (form CV-007): The “Complaint for 
Residential Forcible Entry and Detainer” is used 
for a residential eviction. Important: Incude 
names of all tenants on the lines for Defend-

ant(s)”.  If there are more people in the home 
other than the named tenants, put “and all other 
occupants” on the form.

Summons (form CV-034): The “FED Summons” 
tells the tenant(s) when to come to court (the 
hearing date). You must get a separate summons 
for each defendant from the clerk’s office for $5 
each. The hearing date might be printed on the 
summons, but if not, ask the clerk for the date 
and write it on the summons when you fill it out.

Information Sheet (form CV-256): This is the 
same form you gave the tenant(s) with the 
Notice to Quit. You must include it again with the 
other three forms listed above.

Notice Regarding Electronic Service (form CR-
CV-FM-255): The “Notice Regarding Electronic 
Service” gives the other party the chance to 
agree to send notices about the case by email.  
Write your name as the “Plaintiff” and the name 
of the tenant as the “Defendant.”

Important: Plan ahead! The hearing date on the 
summons must be at least 14 days after the 
date the tenant gets the complaint, summons, 
information sheet, and notice regarding electron-
ic service (date of service). Be sure to plan when 
the tenant will be served and ask for a hearing 
date 14 days or more after that date.   

Step 3. Service
“Service” of the four court forms listed above  is 
how you give notice to the tenant that the evic-
tion is proceeding to court. This service should 
only take place after the notice to quit period 
has ended. Please note that unlike service of the 
notice to quit, to serve the summons, complaint 
and additional court forms, a sheriff is needed.

Go to a sheriff for the county where the home 




