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INTRODUCTION
Maine Juvenile Court is the system that handles most cases involving juveniles. A 
juvenile is an individual under 18 years of age. A juvenile is brought into juvenile 
court when the State alleges that the juvenile has done something that would be 
be considered a crime if an adult had done the same thing.  

This guide will give readers an overview of how juveniles may come to be in-
volved in a juvenile case. It will provide information on the process of a case, the 
roles of law enforcement, Juvenile Community Corrections Officers from the De-
partment of Corrections, staff of the Department of Health and Human Services, 
and others who typically participate in a case. 

The guide is written both for young people who may be involved in a case and 
also, just as importantly, for parents, guardians, family members, and community 
members who want to better understand Maine’s juvenile justice system.

A simple glossary of key terms is included at the end of this guide. Words in bold 
are defined in this section.

I. IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR PARENTS & GUARDIANS
Parents and guardians:

•	 Must be notified that their child has been arrested without undue delay;

•	 Have a right to know where their child is being held;

•	 May be present during any questioning; and

•	 Are required to attend court hearings.

It is very important for parents to help their child: 

•	 �Follow any Juvenile Conditions of Release (JV-006) that the court may set 
with all the requirements of an informal ajustment; and/or

•	 �Fulfill all the terms of a disposition ordered by the court after  
adjudication

A Juvenile Community Corrections Officer (JCCO) may be involved in a juve-
nile case from the investigative stage through the disposition. In some cases, the 
JCCO may arrange an informal adjustment of the case instead of having the case 
proceed in Juvenile Court.
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II. FAQS FOR PARENTS & GUARDIANS

1.  If my child is arrested, when will I be notified?

Law enforcement must notify a parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the arrest 
“without unnecessary delay.” Law enforcement must also tell a parent, guardian, 
or legal custodian where the juvenile is and the name and telephone number of 
the JCCO who has been contacted. If the juvenile has been detained, the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian must be told that a detention hearing will be held 
within 48 hours, not including Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays, and that the 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian must be notified of the time and place of the 
hearing. See Part IV. What Happens in a Juvenile Case for more information.

2.  If my child is arrested, can I see or be with my child during questioning? 

Yes. See "Notice of arrest to parent, guardian, or legal custodian" in Part IV, What 
Happens in a Juvenile Case.

3.  �Am I financially responsible if my child injures someone or causes  
property damage? 

A parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian of a juvenile between the ages of 7 
and 17 who lives at home is responsible for up to $800 in damages when the juve-
nile “willfully or maliciously” causes damage to property or injures a person. See 
14 M.R.S. § 304.

4.  �Am I financially responsible for my child's actions if my child is driving my car?

State law provides that any vehicle owner who allows a juvenile to drive a vehicle 
on a public street is responsible for damages if the juvenile is negligent in operat-
ing the vehicle. See 29-A M.R.S. § 1651.

5.  Am I required to attend my child’s court hearings?

Yes, unless you are unable to attend for a good reason and have gotten permis-
sion from the court before the court date to not attend. See Copy of summons to 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian in Part IV. What Happens in a Juvenile Case.
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6.  �When can I request a court-appointed lawyer if our family cannot afford one?

If you cannot afford a lawyer, you will have a chance to fill out paperwork asking 
the court to appoint a lawyer at the juvenile’s first court date. However, if a 
juvenile is detained before going to court, a lawyer will be appointed before the 
detention hearing. Even if the juvenile is not detained, you can ask that the court 
appoint a lawyer before the first court date. See "Detention Hearing" and "First 
Court Appearance" in Part IV. What Happens in a Juvenile Case. 

7.  Who is permitted to attend my child’s court proceedings? 

A juvenile’s hearing may be closed or open to the public depending upon what 
offense the juvenile is charged with and the age of the juvenile. See Part V. Confi-
dentiality & Case Records.

8.  What are the consequences if my child is adjudicated of a juvenile crime?

This is an important question, but the answer depends on many factors. Ask the 
juvenile’s lawyer. The juvenile’s lawyer can explain what the “collateral conse-
quences” might or will be if the juvenile is adjudicated of having committed a 
juvenile crime, including the following:

•	 Getting into college;

•	 �College or post-secondary scholarships, grants, or federally-subsidized 
loan programs;

•	 Joining the U.S. military;

•	 Receiving different forms of federal assistance;

•	 Getting a driver’s license;

•	 Having firearms;

•	 Applying for a job with certain employers; 

•	 Renting an apartment; and

•	 The juvenile’s immigration status, if the juvenile is not a U.S. citizen.

 9.  �Can I participate in or be present at meetings between my child and the defense 
lawyer?

The "client" of any attorney-representing a juvenile is that juvenile, not the juve-
nile’s parents or guardians. The juvenile decides whether a parent is allowed to be 
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in the room with the juvenile and the lawyer when there is a meeting. If a parent 
is in the room, the conversations between the juvenile and the lawyer may no 
longer be considered confidential.

III. �CASES INVOLVING JUVENILES NOT HEARD IN  
JUVENILE COURT

Certain motor vehicle and hunting and fishing offenses

Some cases charging juveniles with committing illegal acts are not processed in 
the juvenile court. Instead, they are handled in the Unified Criminal Docket. 
These crimes include operating a motor vehicle without a license, fishing without 
a license, speeding, texting while driving, and many crimes involving motor vehi-
cles, snowmobiles, ATVs, and watercraft. See 15 M.R.S. § 3103(1)(E-F).

Being tried as an adult

If a juvenile is charged with a serious crime — murder, or a Class A, B, or C 
crime if committed by an adult, the prosecuting attorney may file a motion to 
have the juvenile tried as an adult.

After the motion is filed, the judge will hold a bind-over hearing to determine 
if the juvenile should be tried as an adult. At the bind-over hearing, the court 
considers testimony about the seriousness of the crime charged, evaluations, and 
whether the current juvenile system can provide any necessary services to the 
juvenile. If a juvenile is bound over, all remaining court matters are held in adult 
criminal court and the juvenile is subject to adult penalties. 15 M.R.S. § 3101(4).

Right to appeal a bind-over decision

If the juvenile disagrees with the court’s bind-over decision, the juvenile may file 
an appeal. See Appeals in Part IV. What Happens in a Juvenile Case for more 
information.

IV. WHAT HAPPENS IN A JUVENILE COURT CASE?

Contact with Law Enforcement

A law enforcement officer investigating possible criminal activity by a juvenile 
may:
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•	 Speak with the juvenile and decide not to take any action; 

•	 �Give the juvenile a Juvenile Summons (JV-002) if the officer thinks the 
juvenile has committed a juvenile crime; or

•	 Arrest and summons the juvenile.

If a juvenile gets a summons or is arrested and given a summons, law enforce-
ment notifies the Juvenile Community Corrections Officer (JCCO) at the De-
partment of Corrections. The JCCO decides if the juvenile will be detained until 
the first court appearance or will be allowed to stay with the juvenile’s parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian. See Role of the Juvenile Community Corrections 
Officer.

Summons

A summons has information about the charges against the juvenile. The sum-
mons includes a notice of when the juvenile must go to court. The summons 
also has the address of the courthouse. Offenses listed in the summons are only 
accusations — a judge will later decide if they can be proven.

Copy of summons to parent, guardian, or legal custodian

The juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian also gets a copy of the sum-
mons. The juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian must go to court with 
the juvenile unless excused for a good reason. If the juvenile’s parent, guardian, 
or legal custodian is unable to attend court, the parent, guardian, or legal custo-
dian must notify the court ahead of time and get permission not to attend. 

Notice of informal adjustment

The summons contains a notice that the juvenile may not need to go to court if 
the juvenile and a representative from the Department of Corrections, like the 
JCCO, are able to agree to what is called an informal adjustment. 

Constitutional rights 

The summons lists the juvenile’s rights, including:

•	 �The right to remain silent; however, if the juvenile says anything after 
being told of this right, what the juvenile says may be used against the 
juvenile in court. 
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•	 �The right to a hearing (trial) before a judge, where the prosecuting attor-
ney is required to prove the charge(s) beyond a reasonable doubt. 

•	 �The right to be represented by a lawyer. A lawyer will be appointed for the 
juvenile if the juvenile or the parent, guardian, or legal custodian cannot 
afford to hire one.

•	 �The right to confront and cross-examine witnesses at the hearing.

•	 �The right to testify, or to choose not to testify. The juvenile’s silence may 
not be used against the juvenile at the hearing.

15 M.R.S. § 3304.

Arrest 

If police believe that a juvenile is not safe to be in the community, the officer 
may arrest the juvenile. In many cases, the juvenile is held in police custody for 
a short period of time and then released to the custody of a parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian.

Notice of arrest to parent, guardian, or legal custodian. 

The juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian must be notified without 
unnecessary delay that the juvenile has been arrested. In addition, the juvenile’s 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian must:

•	 Be told where the juvenile is; 

•	 Be allowed to see the juvenile; and 

•	 Be present during all questioning unless law enforcement officers have 
made a reasonable effort to contact the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian, cannot make such contact, and seek to question the juvenile 
about ongoing or about-to-happen criminal activity. 

15 M.R.S. § 3203-A (Arrested juveniles; release; detention; notification)

In addition, police may ask the juvenile questions after the juvenile's parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian has been notified of the arrest and right to be present 
and has given the police permission to question the juvenile without being pres-
ent.

15 M.R.S. § 3203-A(2-A).
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School Safety Concern 

If police have believable information that there is immediate danger to the safety 
of students or school employees on school grounds, or at a school function, po-
lice may notify the school principal or superintendent of the school.

15 M.R.S. § 3301-A(1) and 20-A M.R.S. § 1055 (11) (School Safety).

Role of the Juvenile Community Corrections Officer (JCCO)

Preliminary investigation 

A JCCO is assigned to each juvenile charged with a juvenile crime. Once a juve-
nile’s case is given to a JCCO, the JCCO investigates the facts and may:

•	 �Decide that no further action is needed; 

•	 �Offer to enter into an informal adjustment with the juvenile to end the 
case; or

•	 �Recommend to the prosecuting attorney that a juvenile petition be filed 
with the court to open a court case. 

A JCCO may also be involved in a juvenile’s case in other ways, including:

•	 �Working out Juvenile Conditions of Release (JV-006) or recommending 
detention if the juvenile is arrested; and

•	 Acting as the juvenile’s probation officer.

15 M.R.S. § 3301 (Preliminary investigation, informal adjustment and petition 
initiation).

Informal adjustment 

An informal adjustment is a voluntary agreement between a juvenile and a 
Juvenile Community Corrections Officer (JCCO).  The juvenile agrees to certain 
items and, if done, the JCCO recommends to the prosecuting attorney that no 
petition charging the juvenile with a juvenile offense be filed with the court. The 
prosecuting attorney then makes the decision as to whether the petition will be 
filed. 

If a juvenile agrees to enter into an informal adjustment, the juvenile must admit 
to having committed the juvenile crime and agree to do certain things. These 
may include: 

•	 Doing community service;
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•	 Paying money to the victim (also called “restitution”); 

•	 Going to school or work; 

•	 Obeying a curfew or an order not to be around certain people; 

•	 Writing a letter of apology;

•	 Participating in a restorative justice process; and/or

•	 Getting counseling or other therapeutic services. 

The specific things the juvenile agrees to do in the informal adjustment are 
worked out between the juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodi-
an, and the JCCO. If the juvenile has a privately hired lawyer, the lawyer may also 
be involved. The prosecuting attorney must agree to have the case settled through 
an informal adjustment.

An informal adjustment is voluntary. A juvenile does not have to agree to an 
informal adjustment. 

Informal adjustments can last up to six months. 

If a juvenile enters into an informal adjustment and successfully completes the 
terms, the juvenile will not have to go to court and will not have a juvenile case 
record. See "Juvenile Case Records" in Part V. Confidentiality & Case Records for 
more information.

15 M.R.S. § 3301 (Preliminary investigation, informal adjustment, and petition 
initiation).

Detention

If a juvenile is arrested and police believe the juvenile should not be released 
before going to court, the police will request that the juvenile be moved to a juve-
nile corrections facility. In this case, a JCCO must be contacted immediately. The 
JCCO may order the juvenile detained only if certain conditions are met. The 
JCCO may let the juvenile be released with or without conditions while waiting 
for the first court appearance. 

15 M.R.S. § 3203-A (Arrested juveniles; release; detention; notification).
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Detention Hearing 

A juvenile who is detained after an arrest must have a hearing before a judge 
within 24 or 48 hours, depending where the juvenile is being held. 

To determine if a juvenile should be detained or released, the court considers 
many things, including:

•	 �The seriousness of the charge and whether there is probable cause to 
believe that the juvenile committed the offense;

•	 �Whether the juvenile will have appropriate supervision, care, and be 
safe if released to the custody of the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian;

•	 The safety of the community; and

•	 �Whether the juvenile refused to participate in a conditional release place-
ment or has a prior record of not appearing at court. 

15 M.R.S. § 3203-A(5) (Detention hearings).

Right to a lawyer 

If a juvenile is detained before going to court, a lawyer will be appointed before 
the detention hearing. Even if a juvenile is not detained, the juvenile or the pros-
ecuting attorney may ask that the court appoint a lawyer for the juvenile before 
the juvenile's first court appearance. Otherwise, the court will let the juvenile 
know of the right to talk to a lawyer at the juvenile's first court appearance and 
every stage of the case. If the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal custodian 
cannot afford a lawyer, the juvenile will have a lawyer appointed and the State 
will pay for the lawyer. See Motion and Affidavit for Assignment of Counsel (CR-
JV-032).

If the juvenile was not detained before the first court appearance and does not 
have a lawyer, the juvenile is encouraged to speak with the lawyer of the day at 
the first court appearance. If, after adjudication, the juvenile is committed to a ju-
venile detention facility or the custody of the Department of Health and Human 
Services, a post-adjudication lawyer will be appointed to the juvenile until the 
juvenile is discharged from the disposition. 

15 M.R.S. § 3306 (Right to a Lawyer).
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Right of appeal

If the juvenile disagrees with the court’s decision about detention, the juvenile, or 
the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian may file an appeal. The juvenile 
can be represented by a lawyer at State expense for the appeal if the juvenile’s 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian cannot afford one.

First Court Appearance

Unless the juvenile has already had a detention hearing, the first time the juvenile 
will come to court will be to answer the charges. This hearing is often called a 
“first appearance” or “initial appearance.”

Answer 

The judge will read the charges and explain the juvenile’s constitutional rights. 
The juvenile will “answer,” that is, tell the court if the juvenile:

•	 Denies the charges (Denial);

•	 Admits to the charges (Admit);

•	 �Is “not contesting” the charges (admitting that the prosecuting attorney 
can prove the charges but not admitting guilt);

•	 �Asserts that the juvenile is not responsible because of insanity or lack of 
competency; or 

•	 Asserts that the juvenile is not responsible due to lack of criminal respon-
sibility. 

See "Competency hearing in a juvenile case."

If the juvenile does not answer, the court will enter a denial.  15 M.R.S. § 3305 
(Answer).

Competency Hearing in a Juvenile Case 

A juvenile is considered competent or able to participate in the case if the juve-
nile can: 

•	 Understand the charges;

•	 Understand the different ways a case can be resolved; and 

•	 Help the defense lawyer prepare and present the case. 

15 M.R.S. § 3318-A(2) (Competency to proceed in a juvenile proceeding).
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How the court decides

If there is a question about whether the juvenile is competent, the court may 
order a competency evaluation by the State Forensic Service. The evaluation must 
take place within 21 days from when the court orders it.

15 M.R.S. § 3318-A(3) (Determination of competency).

The issue of competency can be raised by the juvenile, the defense lawyer, the 
prosecuting attorney, or the judge hearing the case.

What happens after the evaluation?

When all the parties have a copy of the evaluation, the court holds a hearing to 
determine if the juvenile is competent. The evaluation and other evidence can be 
considered by the court when deciding if the juvenile is competent. 

•	 �If the court decides that the juvenile is competent, the case goes forward 
as any other case would. 

•	 �If the court decides that the juvenile is not competent, the court then 
needs to determine if the juvenile may be competent in the near future. 
The court may delay proceedings and reevaluate the juvenile in the next 
couple of months to see if the juvenile is competent. 

•	 �If the court decides that the juvenile will not be competent in the near 
future, then the court considers whether the juvenile needs services from 
or needs to be placed in the custody of the Department of Health and 
Human Services. The court may order the juvenile to receive services or 
treatment. If the court chooses this action, it must dismiss the petition 
that was filed.

•	 �If an adjudication was already made, the court may “vacate” (undo) the 
order. 

15 M.R.S. § 3318-A (Determination of competency of a juvenile to proceed in a 
juvenile proceeding).

15 M.R.S. § 3318-B (Disposition of a juvenile found incompetent to proceed).

Options for Resolving a Juvenile Case 

Deferred disposition 
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If the juvenile and the juvenile’s lawyer can reach an agreement with the pros-
ecuting attorney, the juvenile may be able to get a deferred disposition for the 
case. 

A deferred disposition is a written agreement between the juvenile and the State. 
It lists the things the juvenile must do or must not do, including but not limited 
to:

•	 Going to court when notified to appear;

•	 Committing no new juvenile crime or civil offense;

•	 Agreeing to the conditions of the deferred disposition agreement; and 

•	 Following all of the items listed in the conditions of release order.

Agreement of Juvenile and Order Deferring Disposition (JV-021).

A deferred disposition agreement can last for whatever length of time the court 
decides is reasonable and appropriate. The length of a deferred disposition is 
written in the deferred disposition agreement. The juvenile must sign the de-
ferred disposition agreement. 

When the time period in the deferred disposition is over, the court will send the 
juvenile a notification of a date and time the juvenile must return to court. The 
juvenile must return to court with proof of having done everything the juvenile 
agreed to do.

If the court agrees that the juvenile has successfully completed the agreement, the 
judge dismisses the case or adjudicates the juvenile of the lesser charge as agreed 
to in the deferred disposition. 

If the juvenile violates the agreement or does not do everything, the prosecuting 
attorney may ask the court to:

•	 Change or make the agreement last longer; 

•	 Order rehabilitative services; or 

•	 End the agreement.  

If the court ends the agreement, it will schedule a dispositional hearing to decide 
what the consequences should be for the offense the juvenile admitted to in the 
deferred disposition. 

15 M.R.S. § 3311-B (Deferred disposition).
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Adjudicatory hearing 

The juvenile has the right to an adjudicatory hearing. An adjudicatory hearing is 
when a judge hears evidence from the prosecuting attorney and the juvenile, and 
decides if the juvenile has committed the juvenile crime charged. It is similar to a 
trial. 

Juveniles have the same trial rights as adults, except juveniles do not have a right 
to a jury trial. At the hearing, the prosecuting attorney has the responsibility to 
prove the elements of the alleged crime beyond a reasonable doubt. The hear-
ing is held before a judge and decided by the judge. At the hearing, the juvenile 
(through the defense lawyer) has the right to:

•	 See and ask questions of witnesses for the State;

•	 Give the court evidence and call witnesses; and

•	 Choose to testify or decide not to testify.

If the court finds that the prosecuting attorney has not proven the case beyond a 
reasonable doubt, it will find the juvenile has not committed the crime. The juve-
nile will be released from any detention, and any previously ordered restriction 
will be removed.  

If the court finds that the prosecuting attorney has proven the case against the 
juvenile, the juvenile is adjudicated of having committed a juvenile crime. 

If the juvenile is adjudicated, the next step in the juvenile’s case is a dispositional 
hearing.  

15 M.R.S. § 3310 (Adjudicatory hearing, findings, adjudication).

Disposition 

Instead of being “sentenced,” an adjudicated juvenile receives a disposition. Often 
the court will ask for written reports to help decide what should be the appropri-
ate disposition, including a social study prepared by the JCCO. The prosecutor 
will make a recommendation as well.  15 M.R.S. § 3311 (Social study).

The juvenile and the juvenile’s lawyer will also have an opportunity to give in-
formation and recommend a disposition. The juvenile may present any relevant 
information about the juvenile’s background, personal history, physical or mental 
health issues, or substance use disorders, to the court. 
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After reviewing all the information, the court may order one or more of the 
following as the disposition:

•	 �Probation. During this time the juvenile must do and not do certain 
things in order to successfully complete the period of probation. If the 
juvenile violates the probation, the juvenile may be committed to a deten-
tion facility. Probation can include a suspended disposition.

•	 �Participation in treatment or case management services by the juvenile 
and/or the juvenile’s family.

•	 �A supervised work or service program where the juvenile can earn mon-
ey to pay for damage the juvenile caused.

•	 �Payment of money (restitution) to the victim for harm or damage the 
juvenile caused.

•	 �Commitment to the custody of the Department of Health and Human 
Services or custody to a third party (foster care, group home, or similar 
living arrangement).

•	 Confinement up to 30 days. 

•	 �Commitment to a juvenile detention facility. A commitment to a juvenile 
detention facility is always for an indeterminate period. The commit-
ment may not go longer than a juvenile’s 21st birthday. If a juvenile is 
committed to a juvenile detention facility, a post-adjudication lawyer 
will be appointed to the juvenile until the juvenile is discharged from the 
disposition.

•	 Payment of a fine.

The juvenile may also have a driver’s license suspended for up to six months 
for drug offenses, and up to twelve months for drug trafficking. Suspension of 
a juvenile’s right to operate a motor vehicle, or to apply for a driver’s license or 
permit in certain motor vehicle offenses, may also be imposed. Notice of Suspen-
sion (CR-JV-126).

The juvenile may be required to give up any firearms. 

15 M.R.S. § 3312 (Dispositional Hearing); 15 M.R.S. § 3314 (Disposition). 



A GUIDE FOR FAMILIES IN JUVENILE CASES

www.courts.maine.gov	 15

Right to appeal

If the juvenile disagrees with the court’s disposition, the juvenile may file an 
appeal.

Appeals

If the juvenile or juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian, does not agree 
with the court’s decision at the adjudicatory hearing, the juvenile (usually 
through the juvenile’s defense attorney) may be able to file an appeal. The juve-
nile may appeal:

•	 �An adjudication, as long as the appeal is made after the court’s order of 
disposition. 

•	 �An order of disposition (if the juvenile does not agree with the specific 
things the court ordered).

•	 A detention order. 

•	 A bind-over order.

The juvenile has 21 days from the entry of the court’s order to file a notice of 
appeal. If a juvenile or the parent, guardian, or legal custodian want to pursue 
an appeal, they should talk with the juvenile’s lawyer about the process. If the 
juvenile is not able to afford a lawyer, the court will appoint one for the juvenile 
in order to file the appeal. See Motion and Affidavit for Assignment of Counsel 
(CR-JV-032); Motion for Transcript at State Expense (CV-CR-JV-166); Transcript 
and Audio Order Form (CV-CR-JV-165).

All appeals are heard by the Maine Supreme Judicial Court. The Maine Supreme 
Judicial Court does not decide the case again. Instead, the Court reviews the case 
that happened in the Juvenile Court to determine if an error was made. 

See Notice to Juvenile of Right to Appeal to the Law Court (JV-010); Notice to Par-
ent, Guardian, or Legal Custodian of Right to Appeal to Law Court (JV-011); and 
Notice to Appeal to the Law Court (JV-012).

15 M.R.S. § 3401 and 15 M.R.S. § 3402 (Appeals).
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V. CONFIDENTIALITY & CASE RECORDS

Court Hearings and Records

Juvenile court hearings are closed to the public unless the petition (the document 
filed to start a juvenile case) is open to public inspection.

15 M.R.S. § 3308-D (Confidentiality of Juvenile Court proceedings).

Juvenile Case Records 

There are many factors that determine if juvenile case records are open to public 
inspection. Ask your attorney if you have questions about accessibility of records. 

Generally, whether a juvenile's records are open to public inspection depends 
upon several factors, including:

•	 The level of the charge;

•	 The age of the juvenile;

•	 �Whether the Juvenile Court has determined that there is probable cause 
to believe that the juvenile committed the alleged juvenile crime; and

•	 �Whether there is a compentency proceeding pending before the Juvenile 
Court.

Juvenile petitions open to public inspection

The following petitions are usually open to public inspection after the court 
determines that there is probable cause to believe the juvenile committed the 
alleged juvenile crime:

•	 �A juvenile petition for murder, felony murder, or manslaughter when the 
juvenile is 13 years or older at the time of the alleged offense; and 

•	 �A juvenile petition for a Class A juvenile crime when the juvenile is 13 
years or older at the time of the alleged offense (but please note, this type 
of case can be made confidential by court order).

Juvenile petitions closed to public inspection

The following petitions are usually confidential and closed to public inspection:
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•	 �A juvenile petition for murder, felony murder, or manslaughter when 
the juvenile is under the age of 13 at the time of the alleged offense (but 
please note that this type of case can be made open to public inspection 
by court order);

•	 �A juvenile petition for a Class A juvenile crime when the juvenile is under 
the age of 13 at the time of the alleged offense (but please note that this 
type of case can be made open to public inspection by court order); 

•	 �A juvenile petition for Class B and C juvenile crimes for a juvenile of any 
age (but please note that this type of case can be made open to public 
inspection by court order); 

•	 �A juvenile petition for Class D and E juvenile crimes for a juvenile of any 
age; and

•	 Any civil violation. 

Orders of adjudication

Orders of adjudication for any juvenile crime that is murder, or a Class A, B, or C 
crime are open to public inspection.

Access to all juvenile case records

The following people or agencies may inspect, and after asking the court, can get 
copies of a juvenile's court file:

•	 The juvenile; 

•	 The juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal custodian; 

•	 The juvenile's attorney; 

•	 The prosecuting attorney;

•	 �Any agency that has custody of the juvenile as a result of the juvenile 
being adjudicated of a juvenile crime; and

•	 �The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) if custody to 
DHHS is being considered.

Victim's access to case records

The juvenile petition and the order of adjudication may be inspected by the 
victim. Victim means: 

•	 The victim; 
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•	 �If the victim is a minor, the victim’s parent or parents, guardian, or legal 
custodian; or

•	 �If the victim cannot act on the victim’s own behalf due to death, age, 
physical or mental disease or disorder, intellectual disability, autism, or 
other reason, an immediate family member, guardian, or legal custodian 
of the victim. 

Access to juvenile case records by others

There are times when the court may allow other individuals to inspect the juve-
nile’s case records as long as the juvenile’s name is removed from the file. This can 
happen only after the person wanting access makes a written request to the court 
and the court approves the request. 

15 M.R.S. § 3308 (Juvenile case records; inspection and sealing).

Sealing a Juvenile Case Record 

Some juvenile case records are automatically sealed when the Juvenile Court is 
notified that a juvenile has completed all requirements of the case’s disposition. 
Other juvenile records can be sealed only if the juvenile files a request (also 
known as a “petition”) with the Juvenile Court to seal the records.

Automatic sealing

If a juvenile has completed all of the court obligations that were imposed after 
being adjudicated of a Class D or Class E juvenile crime or a juvenile crime that 
would be considered a civil offense if committed by an adult, the court will auto-
matically seal the juvenile court record within five business days after a Notice of 
Discharge (JV-040) is filed with the Juvenile Court. The Notice of Discharge must 
be filed by:  

•	 �The Department of Corrections if the juvenile’s disposition involved 
commitment to a juvenile correctional facility, a period of confinement 
at a juvenile correctional facility that was not longer than 30 days, or a 
suspended disposition; or
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•	 �The office of the prosecuting attorney if the disposition included resti-
tution, community service, or a restorative justice process and the court 
ordered that proof of completion be provided to the office of the prose-
cuting attorney; or 

•	 The juvenile or the juvenile’s attorney.

Petition to seal a juvenile case record

If a juvenile was adjudicated of murder or a Class A, B, or C crime or operat-
ing under the influence, the juvenile may petition the court to seal the juvenile 
records if the juvenile meets certain conditions: 

•	 �Three years have passed since the juvenile completed all juvenile court 
obligations; 

•	 �The juvenile has not been adjudicated of another juvenile crime or 
convicted of committing a crime as an adult since the disposition of the 
juvenile crime; and

•	 �There are no current proceedings or charges pending against the juvenile 
for a juvenile or adult crime.

15 M.R.S. §3308-C(10)(A)(Juvenile case records sealed).

How does the court decide?

If everything listed above is met, the court may seal a juvenile case record unless 
it finds that the public’s right to information substantially outweighs the juvenile’s 
interest in privacy. The court’s decision cannot be appealed.

What does "sealing" mean?

When a juvenile's case records are sealed, it means that the public will not be able 
to see the juvenile’s court file and the juvenile may respond to most questions 
about the case as if it never happened. However, the juvenile must always report 
the juvenile crime when answering questions from the court or a criminal justice 
agency. 

•	 �Sealing a juvenile case record does not erase the record of the case. Maine 
does not have “expungement.”
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•	 �If the juvenile case record is sealed, it means that members of the public, 
such as employers or landlords, who search the State Bureau of Identifica-
tion database will not see the record. 

•	 �However, Maine courts, criminal justice agencies, the juvenile, and any-
one the juvenile designates, will be able to see the juvenile record.

Who can help file a petition to seal a juvenile case record?

The juvenile or the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian can make a 
request to seal a record. The person asking for the record sealing may contact 
the defense lawyer who originally represented the juvenile in the case or another 
lawyer. Court-appointed lawyers paid for by the State are not available for this 
process. The Petition to Seal Juvenile Case Records (JV-043) court form is available 
on the Judicial Branch website Forms page.

VI. JUVENILES IN THE CUSTODY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF 
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES OR IN INTERIM CARE 

DHHS Custody

If a juvenile is adjudicated as having committed a juvenile crime, the court can 
order the juvenile to be placed in the custody of the Department of Health and 
Human Services (DHHS). The court may order this as part of the disposition of 
the case if the juvenile’s safety will be at risk where the juvenile is currently living.

If the court places a juvenile in the custody of DHHS, DHHS is considered to be 
the juvenile’s guardian with both physical and legal custody. DHHS will decide:

•	 Where the juvenile will live;

•	 With whom the juvenile will live; 

•	 What school the juvenile will attend; 

•	 What general rules will be in place for the juvenile; and

•	 �What contact the juvenile will have with the juvenile’s parent, guardian, 
or legal custodian.

Rights of parents, guardians, and legal custodians

Parents, guardians, and legal custodians have the following rights when the court 
is considering placing a juvenile in the custody of DHHS:
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•	 �Notice to the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian at least ten 
days before the court date to determine if the juvenile will be placed in 
DHHS custody;

•	 The opportunity to be heard at the hearing; and 

•	 �Help from a court-appointed lawyer at no cost if the parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian cannot afford a lawyer. 

15 M.R.S. § 3314(1)(C-1) (Disposition). 

See Hearing Notice to Parents/Legal Custodian for Consideration of DHHS Custo-
dy (JV-016).

Appointment of a Guardian ad litem

If the court is considering placing a child in the custody of DHHS, the court may 
appoint a Guardian ad litem (GAL) to help make that decision. 

The GAL will talk to all the individuals involved in the case, including the 
juvenile. The GAL may also talk to others such as staff at the juvenile’s school, 
doctors, or relatives. After speaking with the juvenile and others, the GAL then 
writes a report for the court recommending what next steps are in the best inter-
est of the juvenile. 

Reunification services 

DHHS must provide reunification services to the juvenile’s parents, guardians, 
or legal custodians. These services are designed to help the parents, guardians, or 
legal custodians do the work needed to get custody back of the juvenile. Some-
times the judge will require as part of a juvenile’s disposition that the juvenile 
take part in the reunification services. Other times, the juvenile’s participation 
will be optional. Services may include counseling.

The judge will review the case at least every six months. This review is called a 
“judicial review”. There are certain things that need to be reviewed at each of 
these court dates, including where the juvenile is living and how the parents or 
guardians are doing with reunification services. A juvenile who is 20 years of age 
or younger will be appointed a lawyer to be represented at the judicial reviews.

22 M.R.S. § 4041 (Departmental responsibilities).

22 M.R.S. § 4038 (Mandated review; review on motion).
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Interim Care 

A police officer may take a juvenile into interim care for a short period of time. 
This may happen if the police officer believes that a juvenile:

•	 Is lost or has been abandoned;

•	 Could be in a dangerous situation; and/or

•	 �Has left the juvenile’s parents, guardians, or legal custodian’s care without 
permission. 

Interim care is not an arrest

•	 Interim care is not an arrest. 

•	 The interim care will not be in police records.  

•	 �The police will not take the juvenile’s fingerprints or send the juvenile’s 
name, address, photograph, or other information to any agency except to 
help return the juvenile home. 

•	 �The police will not hold the juvenile involuntarily for more than six 
hours.

When an officer takes a juvenile into interim care, the officer will contact DHHS 
as soon as possible. DHHS will choose a place where the juvenile will stay, which 
is not a jail or a secure detention facility. 

The officer or DHHS will notify the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodi-
an of the juvenile’s whereabouts as soon as possible. DHHS will offer voluntary 
social services to the juvenile and their family and encourage the juvenile and 
family members to voluntarily accept services.  

15 M.R.S. §3501 (Interim care).



A GUIDE FOR FAMILIES IN JUVENILE CASES

www.courts.maine.gov	 23

DEFINITION OF KEY TERMS
Definitions of some of the terms used in juvenile cases are below. See also 15 
M.R.S. § 3003.

Adjudicated: A juvenile is considered to have been “adjudicated” when the court 
decides that the State has proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the juvenile 
has committed a juvenile offense. A juvenile may also be “adjudicated” when the 
juvenile enters a plea of guilty to the juvenile offense that was charged. 

Adjudicatory hearing: When a judge hears evidence from the state and the 
juvenile, and decides if the juvenile has committed the juvenile offense charged. 
It is similar to a trial. 

Arrest: When a law enforcement officer detains a juvenile based on probable 
cause that a juvenile has committed a juvenile crime. 

Bind-over hearing: A court hearing to determine if the State can go forward 
with the case against the juvenile as if the juvenile were an adult.  The prosecut-
ing attorney decides if this is an issue that the court should hear. 

Defense lawyer: Lawyer who represents a juvenile accused of a juvenile crime. 

Deferred disposition: A possible resolution to a case where the parties agree to 
the juvenile temporarily admitting to a juvenile crime. Once the juvenile admits 
to the juvenile crime, the court date is set for a later time to give the juvenile 
time to complete the services and activities that the juvenile and the prosecuting 
attorney agree to. The court needs to approve this agreement. The services and 
activities may include: 

•	 Counseling;

•	 Attending school or a job;

•	 Living with a specific person; and 

•	 Community service. 

If the juvenile does everything that is required, with the approval of the prosecut-
ing attorney, the court may dismiss the charges or allow the juvenile to enter an 
admission of guilt to a lesser charge. 

Detention/Detained:  When a juvenile is placed in a facility and not able to 
leave. 



24	 MAINE JUDICIAL BRANCH

A GUIDE FOR FAMILIES IN JUVENILE CASES

Disposition: Consequences ordered by the court for a juvenile who has been 
adjudicated. 

Dispositional Hearing: A hearing after a juvenile has been adjudicated where 
evidence is given to the court to help the court decide what the consequences for 
the adjudicated juvenile will be. 

Guardian ad Litem: A person appointed by the court to inform the court about 
and represent the needs and best interests of a juvenile. 

Informal adjustment: A voluntary agreement between a juvenile and a Juvenile 
Community Corrections Officer (JCCO).  The juvenile agrees to certain items 
and, if done, the JCCO recommends to the prosecuting attorney that a petition 
charging the juvenile with a juvenile crime not be filed with the court. The prose-
cuting attorney then makes the decision as to whether the petition will be filed. 

Interim care: Temporary physical control of a juvenile by a police officer or 
other person authorized by 15 M.R.S. § 3501.

Judge: Judicial officer who oversees cases and proceedings in the Maine Juvenile 
Court and other courts.

Juvenile case records: All records that make up a juvenile case file. Access to 
these records depends on the type of crime as well as who is trying to see the 
records. A juvenile case record does not include administrative or operational 
records of the Judicial Branch. 

Juvenile Court: Judges of the Maine District Court when presiding over juvenile 
proceedings.

Juvenile Community Corrections Officer or JCCO: Staff of the Maine De-
partment of Corrections who, among other things, conduct investigations and 
serve as juvenile probation officers in juvenile cases. JCCOs are involved in 
many parts of a juvenile case, including contact before the juvenile’s first court 
appearance and the dispositional phase of the case. See 34-A M.R.S. § 5602 and 
15 M.R.S. § 3203-A.  

Lawyer of the day: A licensed Maine lawyer, appointed by the court, who is 
present in court and available to provide free legal advice to all juveniles at the 
first court appearance. 
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Prosecuting attorney: A licensed Maine lawyer who represents the State of 
Maine in a juvenile case. The prosecutor is either an Assistant District Attorney 
(ADA) or an Assistant Attorney General (AAG).

Social study:  A study, required by the court, that looks at a juvenile’s social 
situation including housing, family, school, and/or employment. The court may 
consider recommendations in the social study in its disposition.  

Summons: A document given to the juvenile by a law enforcement officer stat-
ing the alleged crime that the juvenile is accused of committing as well as the 
date and location of the initial court appearance. 

Suspended disposition: After a juvenile has been adjudicated of a juvenile 
crime, the court may delay the disposition/consequences while a juvenile 
participates in services determined by the court. For example, if a juvenile is 
ordered to pay money as a result of being adjudicated, the court may allow the 
juvenile to not pay the money right away as long as the juvenile does a certain 
numbeer of community service hours. Unlike a deferred disposition, with 
a suspended disposition, what the juvenile has been adjudicated of will not 
change after the activities are completed. 
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SELECTED RESOURCES

Getting Legal Help

Juvenile Justice Clinic at the Cumberland Legal Aid Clinic, University of 
Maine School of Law | www.mainelaw.maine.edu/academics/clinics-and-cen-
ters/clac/juvenile-justice. | (207) 780-4370

Maine State Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service | (800) 860-1460 $25 ad-
ministrative fee to help individuals find a private attorney; includes a 30-minute 
consultation.

Pine Tree Legal Assistance | ptla.org 

Kids Legal | kidslegal.org

Additional legal aid resources are listed on the Judicial Branch website 

www.courts.maine.gov/help/legal/

Domestic Violence Help

Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence | www.mcedv.org | (866) 83-4HELP

Sexual Assault Prevention Help

Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault | www.mecasa.org | 1-800-871-7741
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DISABILITY ACCOMMODATION

The Maine Judicial Branch makes every reasonable effort to 
provide accommodations and auxiliary aids and services to people 
with disabilities at no cost to them so that they may access the 
court and its services. You may talk to your lawyer about arrang-

ing for accommodations, or contact the Court Access Coordinator at (207) 822-
0718, TTY: Maine Relay 711, or accessibility @courts.maine.gov with requests. 
You may also contact the clerk’s office in the court where your case is being 
heard. A link to the Disability Accommodation Request Form is available on the 
Judicial Branch website.

LANGUAGE ACCESS

The Maine Judicial Branch provides interpreters to people who 
have Limited English Proficiency (LEP) or who are deaf or hard of 
hearing at no cost to them so that they may access the court and its 
services. The Judicial Branch must also provide an ASL interpreter 

to court observers who are deaf or hard of hearing upon request. Please talk to 
your lawyer about arranging for an interpreter, or contact the Communications 
Access Specialist directly at (207) 822-0703, TTY: Maine Relay 711, or inter-
preters@courts.maine.gov with requests, You may also contact the clerk’s office 
where your case is being heard. More information on interpreter assistance can 
be found on the Judicial Branch website.
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NOTES
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MORE FAMILY MATTERS PUBLICATIONS FROM  
THE MAINE JUDICIAL BRANCH

The Maine Judicial Branch provides many publications that contain helpful  
information about the court process and available resources.

A Guide for Families in Child  
Protection Cases 

This guide explains the court process 
and what to expect when you go to 
court for a child protection case. 

Scheduling Planner for Families in 
Child Protection Cases 

This resource includes a calendar to 
help keep track of dates and import-
ant information in a child protection 
case. The scheduling planner also 
includes information about the court 
process for a child protection case.

A Guide to Family Separation in 
Maine: Divorce & Parental Rights &  
Responsibilities Cases

This guide explains how to start a 
divorce and parental rights & re-
sponsibilities case and what to expect 
in court. The guide also includes 
information about how to change or 
enforce an existing court order. 

A Guide to Protection from Abuse 
& Harassment Cases

This guide explains how to ask the 
court for a protection order. The 
guide also explains the court process 
for a protection from abuse and pro-
tection from harassment case.

 

Copies of these guides can be found on the Maine Judicial Branch website at 
www.courts.maine.gov/help/guides 
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