Published Opinions of the Law Court

These opinions are subject to motions for reconsideration pursuant to Rule 14(b) of the Maine Rules of Appellate Procedure, and to revision and correction before final publication. Readers are asked to notify the Reporter of Decisions of any typographical, grammatical or other formal errors by U.S. Mail to Clerk of the Law Court, 205 Newbury Street, Room 139, Portland, ME 04101-4125, or by filling out the form on the Contact Us page of this website.

The permanent, official versions of Maine Supreme Judicial Court's opinions are those published in the Atlantic Reporter (2d Series and 3d Series), which has been Maine's official reporter since 1966.

Opinions have been published online since January 1997. Decisions published online should be cited in the following style:

Dutil v. Burns, 1997 ME 1,¶ 2, 687 A.2d 639.

 

Citations

Maine Law Review: Uniform Maine Citations

Uniform Maine Citations, 2011 Edition, provides updated rules for the citation of Maine legal authorities, including judicial decisions, constitutional provisions, statutory and legislative materials, court rules, treatises, periodicals, and miscellaneous Maine authorities.

 

Opinions

Opinions published online since January 2006 are in pdf format. The free Adobe Acrobat Reader is necessary to view those opinions.

 

Previous years' opinions

 

This year's opinions:

April 2014
Opinion # Case Date
2014 ME 51 Philip C. Tobin v. Philip N. Barter April 1, 2014
2014 ME 52 Mallinckrodt US LLC et al. v. Department of Environmental Protection April 3, 2014
2014 ME 53 Robin S. Hutchinson v. Jennie E. (Hutchinson) Cobb April 3, 2014
2014 ME 54 In re M.S. April 8, 2014
2014 ME 55 State of Maine v. Charles R. Black April 8, 2014
2014 ME 56 Central Maine Power Company v. Public Utilities Commission April 8, 2014
2014 ME 57 Marc B. Terfloth v. Town of Scarborough April 8, 2014
2014 ME 58 F. Lee Bailey v. Board of Bar Examiners April 10, 2014
2014 ME 59 Matthew W. Pitts v. Amanda M. Moore April 17, 2014

 

March 2014
Opinion # Case Date
2014 ME 34 Estate of Michael Lewis v. Concord General Mutual Insurance Company March 4, 2014
2014 ME 35 State of Maine v. Andrew J. Freeman March 4, 2014
2014 ME 36 Adoption of T.D. March 4, 2014
2014 ME 37 Bayview Loan Servicing, LLC v. John H. Bartlett et al. March 4, 2014
2014 ME 38 Houlton Water Company et al. v. Public Utilities Commission March 4, 2014
2014 ME 39 Patricia A. McCollor v. Frederick J. McCollor Jr. et al. March 4, 2014
2014 ME 40 Estate of Robert L. Collopy March 6, 2014
2014 ME 41 Edwina Jones v. Cost Management, Inc. March 6, 2014
2014 ME 42 Clifford Lippitt v. Board of Certification for Geologists and Soil Scientists March 11, 2014
2014 ME 43 State of Maine v. Reginald Dube March 18, 2014
2014 ME 44 Sharon Cassidy v. City of Bangor et al. March 18, 2014
2014 ME 45 State of Maine v. Arnold A. Diana March 20, 2014
2014 ME 46 John S. Zablotny v. State Board of Nursing March 20, 2014
2014 ME 47 State of Maine v. Elfido Marroquin-Aldana March 25, 2014
2014 ME 48 State of Maine v. Jason M. Lovejoy March 27, 2014
2014 ME 49 State of Maine v. Spencer T. Glover March 27, 2014
2014 ME 50 State of Maine v. Samuel Sanchez March 27, 2014


February 2014
Opinion # Case Date
2014 ME 12 Robert F. Almeder et al. v. Town of Kennebunkport et al. February 4, 2014
2014 ME 13 Christine A. Murphy v. William E. Bartlett February 4, 2014
2014 ME 14 State of Maine v. Lisha Rose Stanley February 4, 2014
2014 ME 15 In re M.M. February 11, 2014
2014 ME 16 State of Maine v. Seth J. Hill February 11, 2014
2014 ME 17 Lewis Lubar, Trustee of the Clover Trust v. Frederick W. Connelly February 11, 2014
2014 ME 18 Ellen J. Clark v. John Brian McLane February 11, 2014
2014 ME 19 Estate of Daniel Nickerson v. Alan Carter et al. February 11, 2014
2014 ME 20 Bangor Savings Bank v. Robin N. Richard February 11, 2014
2014 ME 21 Stephen W. Riffle et al. v. S. David Smith et al. February 11, 2014
2014 ME 22 Estate of Vera Boulier v. Presque Isle Nursing Home February 13, 2014
2014 ME 23 State of Maine v. Nicholas A. Gladu February 18, 2014
2014 ME 24 Jeffrey A. Cookson v. State of Maine February 18, 2014
2014 ME 25 Guardianship of Zacharia Hartley Stevens February 18, 2014
2014 ME 26 Kennebec County v. Maine Public Employees Retirement System February 20, 2014
2014 ME 27 Richard C. Hickson v. Vescom Corporation February 25, 2014
2014 ME 28 State of Maine v. Jay S. Mercier February 25, 2014
2014 ME 29 State of Maine v. Aaron S. Lowden February 25, 2014
2014 ME 30 In re G.W. February 25, 2014
2014 ME 31 State of Maine v. Joel A. Hayden February 25, 2014
2014 ME 32 Estate of Ada Y. Greenblatt February 25, 2014
2014 ME 33 William Clark v. Hancock County Commissioners February 27, 2014

January 2014
Opinion # Case Date
2014 ME 1 In re Steven L. January 9, 2014
2014 ME 2 Estate of Mary E. Hiller January 9, 2014
2014 ME 3 Lisa Lesko v. Theodore Stanislaw January 14, 2014
2014 ME 4 John McClare v. James J. Rocha January 14, 2014
2014 ME 5 Jessica A. (Nadeau) Potila v. Larry A. Nadeau January 16, 2014
2014 ME 6 Preti Flaherty Beliveau & Pachios LLP v. State Tax Assessor January 16, 2014
2014 ME 7 Ford Motor Company v. Darling's et al. January 21, 2014
2014 ME 8 Nicole Dussault v. RRE Coach Lantern Holdings, LLC, et al. January 23, 2014
2014 ME 9 State of Maine v. David W. Troy January 23, 2014
2014 ME 10 Estate of Gloria P. Hall January 28, 2014
2014 ME 11 John Doe et al. v. Regional School Unit 26 January 30, 2014